Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

Fuel Mapping, Pre-Dyno ?'s

2K views 4 replies 2 participants last post by  GodZuki 
#1 ·
So I should have my bike up and running again by next weekend. I was curious as to what AFR I should run until I can get a proper dyno tune to trim from. It'll have a full exhaust, air filter, z-bomb, etc. Based on what I've read, the typical ratio people seem to run at the track, maybe street too? , is 13.0 +/- 0.2 : 1
I'm going to be strictly commuting until I can get to the dyno, then it'll be track time again. I was thinking for now 13.5 +/- 0.2 would be safe to run for the street. Not too lean? Or should I just stick to the 13.0 so I don't grenade my motor?
I'm still a noob to the tuning realm and learn more every day, so please...be gentle.

#2 ·
Do you have a fuel controller yet? You'll need an Autotune or ZAFM in addition to fuel controller to be able to use the AFR for trimming the fuel map. You'll also need the PAIR system removed or disabled.

If you have the PC V + Autotune or ZFi + ZAFM already, go to their website and download a map that's close to your setup. Don't worry too much about it if you can't find one that seems really close. The AFR table in those canned maps are pretty much the same across them all. It might just take a bit more riding for the Autotune to trim the fuel tables to match your setup.

Search the forum for Autotune AFR too, there are a few threads with discussions about modifying the AFR on your own. Of course, a proper tune is always the best.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

#3 ·
Yeah I have a full bazzaz system, just need to hook it all up. My plan is to get the map "good enough" so that the bike doesn't run like garbage, until I can get a proper tune (one for the street and one for the track), then from there the z-afm would take over the job of making sure the z-fi can maintain the dyno tuned numbers as I go from track to track or location to location (different elevations and such).