REVIEW: GP PRO front and rear stands from ebay - 600RR.net
600rr.net Product Reviews Use this section to provide a detailed review of new products.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 203 (permalink) Old 04-05-2008, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
Training Wheel Hero
 
AznOutlaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 20
Images: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thumbs up REVIEW: GP PRO front and rear stands from ebay

what up all?

Needed stands and pitbulls were out of my price range and t-rex stands weren't one piece pipes(for strength)... found these on ebay... GP PRO Series stands from gpiindustries.com... they are part of their factory blemish sale... they have BIN for 130 shipped but i got mine for 122 shipped with the ongoing auctions... hey saving a couple bucks here and there adds up...

they are factory blemished but not to the point where it is noticeable... there are some divots or pits in the pipe... but the paint covers it up... don't know if this is normal or not with other stands but i think those are the blemishes...

the only thing that i don't like about them is that the rear stand spool attachment doesn't swivel... so it kind of scrapes the spools in that area... and also to be nit picky, there is no bottom rubber or plastic supports at the bottom of the stand so the bottom of the stand is going to get scraped up...

i haven't had any problems lifting or putting down the bike by myself and haven't used the suggested wooden blocks so that the bike stands almost up right so you can use the stands... but knock on wood...

haven't used the front stands yet so can't say much...

i'll post pics if requested... don't have time now...

Peace...

Last edited by AznOutlaw; 04-05-2008 at 10:24 PM.
AznOutlaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 203 (permalink) Old 04-18-2008, 12:17 PM
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I picked up a set of these too. I bought them off their website for $99 plus shipping. I want too sure if they would fit, so i sent them an email and got a reply within minutes. They answered all my questions and then some !! I personally think they are great stands and couldnt be happier.

Like AznOutlaw said.....I give them a big thumbs up too.

www.gpiindustries.com

Maybe we should inquire about a group buy? I've never tried to set up a group buy before, so maybe somebody else can try ?????
cbrguy109 is offline  
post #3 of 203 (permalink) Old 04-19-2008, 01:34 AM
Pocketbike Racer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Orange County
Posts: 257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
id definately hit up a group buy. I need a stand quick.
MrMeat is offline  
post #4 of 203 (permalink) Old 04-19-2008, 01:15 PM
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by AznOutlaw View Post

the only thing that i don't like about them is that the rear stand spool attachment doesn't swivel... so it kind of scrapes the spools in that area... and also to be nit picky, there is no bottom rubber or plastic supports at the bottom of the stand so the bottom of the stand is going to get scraped up...



Peace...

I dont think you will find any stand ( pitbull, vortex ect...) that has a swivel spool attachemnt.....the physics behind a swivel would not make the attachment work properly when trying to lift the spools.
I've looked at pitbulls and vortex and gpi stands and they all have the same type of "V" shaped cut out attachment that grabs the spools.

Also, spools are only an adapter attachment to a bike so that stands can be used, I dont consider spools "show" items on the bike. they are just so I can use a stand to work on my bike.

Either way, I still think they are worth every penney and they are built solid.

Last edited by cbrguy109; 04-19-2008 at 01:18 PM.
cbrguy109 is offline  
post #5 of 203 (permalink) Old 06-22-2008, 04:20 PM
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just picked up another set of these for my track bike ( 2002 gsxr 600 ). I said it in the last post.........they are rock solid. The one piece steel design is the way to go. All those cheap "bolt together" stands just flex and dont look too stable. http://gpiindustries.com/products.html
cbrguy109 is offline  
post #6 of 203 (permalink) Old 06-22-2008, 06:22 PM
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 146
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i just ordered a set. hopefully they'll come soon... of course i submitted payment with the wrong shipping information. i sent them an email to correct it. hopefully they dont send the stands to my mom's house.... she doesnt know i have one... a motorcycle that is...
pakitagn is offline  
post #7 of 203 (permalink) Old 06-25-2008, 11:18 AM
Moto GP Racer
 
FightingChance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,949
Thanks: 0
Thanked 390 Times in 341 Posts
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
These look real nice. I have a T-Rex rear stand and it does flex/wobble because it is a bolt together piece.
FightingChance is offline  
post #8 of 203 (permalink) Old 06-25-2008, 01:01 PM
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 146
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i ordered a set over the weekend. they got sent out on monday and came at 8 this morning. i even had time to clean and lube my chain before work. 140 shipped...



pakitagn is offline  
post #9 of 203 (permalink) Old 07-19-2008, 03:38 PM
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
pakitagn, i see you got a set too........how do u like them?

I personally dont know how I could have lived without a quality set of stands like these, they make even basic maintanence SO MUCH EASIER !
cbrguy109 is offline  
post #10 of 203 (permalink) Old 07-20-2008, 04:29 AM
Knee Dragger
 
ajax40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 164
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the review. Something I can consider whenever the time comes.
ajax40 is offline  
post #11 of 203 (permalink) Old 08-18-2008, 11:21 AM
Training Wheel Hero
 
mbreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
GP pro stands

I just ordered a set. $140 for a pair including s/h was hard to pass up; we'll see how they perform. I'll edit my post when they arrive with more details.
mbreen is offline  
post #12 of 203 (permalink) Old 08-21-2008, 04:50 PM
Knee Dragger
 
phd12volt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just ordered them today, based on the previous experiences. Thanks as i was going to buy one at the same price for just the rear.

I ordered the blemishes, im gonna **** them up anyway. ;)

Jason
2003 Black CBR 600 RR
2003 Jaguar S-type "R"
phd12volt is offline  
post #13 of 203 (permalink) Old 08-27-2008, 04:23 PM
Knee Dragger
 
phd12volt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well, i received them today, actually a DAY EARLY than expected. And i only see 1 little tiny scratch on them???? I Find it hard to think they are blemishes???? ANYWAY, they were packed wonderful, all the parts were there, it went together in a couple of minutes, and i couldnt be happier!!!!

If your even thinking about getting these, i must say i friggin impressed. The quality of the tube, the quality of the paint, everything is perfect.

I even ran outside and lifted a co-workers bike up with them, all by myself, and it was fine.

www.gpiindustries.com

I highly recommend them, and they get 3 thumbs up for customer service and response time

Jason
2003 Black CBR 600 RR
2003 Jaguar S-type "R"
phd12volt is offline  
post #14 of 203 (permalink) Old 08-30-2008, 11:53 PM
GS3
Pocketbike Racer
 
GS3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 422
Images: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
i need to get a set

06 600rr Movistar Replica

8000k HID Kit, LP Aeros Flush Mount (Smoked), CA Intergrated Tail Light (Smoked), Tripage FE, Tripage LED Hugger, Tripage 3rd Eye, BrowningBuck Blue Gauges With Gear Indicator, Jardine RT-1 Carbon Dual Outlet, Black Gas Cap, Flat Black Fairing Bolts, Powdercoated Black Swing Arm, Black Vortex Rearsets
GS3 is offline  
post #15 of 203 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 12:32 AM
gee
Overpaid South Pacific Barista overactive ADHD crew off their meds!!
 
gee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: a day ahead
Posts: 27,366
Thanks: 190
Thanked 39 Times in 37 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
nice , they look the business...


IGOT new stuff ...disco helped me good!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by gee View Post
Yes, I agree 100%, Canon Cameras SUCK! .
gee is offline  
post #16 of 203 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 03:02 PM
Training Wheel Hero
 
Slyncka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 77
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I got mine yesterday and like was said before. Very sturdy, no wobble and I got the bike up and down by myself fine. I also got the factory blemishes, I cant tell the difference, they look fine.
Slyncka is offline  
post #17 of 203 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 03:39 PM
Training Wheel Hero
 
mbreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ditto the previous post. Single tube construction; comes with both rear adapter options (spools and bumpers). I ordered the factory blemishes and couldn't really tell a difference. Otherwise, they feel very sturdy and I easily lift my bike by myself. No experience with PitBulls, but I'm very pleased to have a nice set of stands at half the price of the PBs.:icon_lol:

(sorry, new to the pic upload and couldn't get them under the file size limits without being very small)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Front stand.jpg
Views:	495
Size:	19.7 KB
ID:	8501   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rear Stand.jpg
Views:	390
Size:	17.5 KB
ID:	8502  

Last edited by mbreen; 08-31-2008 at 03:59 PM. Reason: to add pictures
mbreen is offline  
post #18 of 203 (permalink) Old 09-09-2008, 04:29 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
glewis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 783
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Just bought a set of the factory blems. $134 shipped!!! Awesome Deal!! Cant wait to get these!

Thanks for the great reviews guys!

Was just about to purchase some pitbull stands, so this saved me a ton of money!
glewis1 is offline  
post #19 of 203 (permalink) Old 09-14-2008, 03:09 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
glewis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 783
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
wow....came in superfast. think it took about 2-3 days. Big thumbs up on these stands!!!

06' Orange/Black Tribal
glewis1 is offline  
post #20 of 203 (permalink) Old 09-14-2008, 05:16 PM
Knee Dragger
 
R6UCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just ordered the pair of the blemished today. Right now actually... hopefully they come in before Wednesday... I can't wait to do some maintenance of my own... also would have been cool if I had the stands while I was putting on my Movistar plastics... more clearance on the lower fairings.
R6UCD is offline  
post #21 of 203 (permalink) Old 09-14-2008, 06:20 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 569
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I also got the factory blemished ones. I couldn't find any blemishes. Maybe I am not looking hard. I am pretty happy with them. I sat on my bike with the stands on and they held up pretty good. Also, the shipping was pretty fast. I got a pair for $130 shipped. I did my first 600 miles service on these stands and they look rock solid to me.

--------
Ride N Joy
oldmangettingold is offline  
post #22 of 203 (permalink) Old 09-14-2008, 09:23 PM
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I just bought a pair of these stands and can agree that they seem to be pretty high quality. The set I picked up were the blemished ones as well, all I could think is that the small paint smudges is what they are calling a blemish. Definitely worth the $140.
thoma16 is offline  
post #23 of 203 (permalink) Old 09-14-2008, 11:02 PM
Knee Dragger
 
R6UCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm starting to think that the "blemished" stands are the only stands they sell... There really aren't any of the non-blemished stands. It's a marketing ploy haha.
R6UCD is offline  
post #24 of 203 (permalink) Old 09-15-2008, 10:58 AM
Pocketbike Racer
 
gqballa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 378
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Dang i just emailed them to see if theyll ship to Canada
gqballa is offline  
post #25 of 203 (permalink) Old 09-15-2008, 02:33 PM
Fabulous Disaster
 
Corporal Punishment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NAS Lemoore, CA
Posts: 325
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Ok, I'm sold. I kept waiting for just one bad review, but I think I'd be waiting forever and a day. Off to ebay i go.
Corporal Punishment is offline  
post #26 of 203 (permalink) Old 09-15-2008, 04:46 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
glewis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 783
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
best to buy them right from their site!! cheaper!

06' Orange/Black Tribal
glewis1 is offline  
post #27 of 203 (permalink) Old 09-15-2008, 05:22 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Dubble_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 652
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
+1 to all these people giving good reviews! I'm going to be picking up a set of these. I couldn't justify paying so much money for the PB's.

My bike is red, black, clean, waxed, and fast.
Dubble_R is offline  
post #28 of 203 (permalink) Old 09-15-2008, 09:03 PM
Pocketbike Racer
 
gqballa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 378
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
damn they don't ship to canada...

looks like ill never enjoy these stands
gqballa is offline  
post #29 of 203 (permalink) Old 09-17-2008, 02:17 PM
Knee Dragger
 
R6UCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by gqballa View Post
damn they don't ship to canada...

looks like ill never enjoy these stands
I'm pretty sure one of our 600rr.net members would be willing to buy it for you so long as you paypal'ed them money in advance or something. Someone who lives in a US state bordering Canada nearby where you're from. Post a WTB!
R6UCD is offline  
post #30 of 203 (permalink) Old 10-03-2008, 02:14 AM
Moto GP Racer
 
R3DS2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 5,274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
SOLD OUT wtf i want a set :(
R3DS2K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 600RR.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome