browningbucks moty gear indicator/blackout/led mod (06 600rr) - 600RR.net
600rr.net Product Reviews Use this section to provide a detailed review of new products.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-10-2009, 01:44 AM Thread Starter
World Superbike Racer
 
TonyTheTige-rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vallejo,California, Riding all year long baby!!!!
Posts: 1,625
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
browningbucks moty gear indicator/blackout/led mod (06 600rr)

first like to say sorry to browning buck i finally found my tripod lol,


customer service WAS TOP NOTCH he did me and two of my other friends gauges all at one time, turnaround time was only a couple days!!!!


i got the black out, white displays, black out, white tach with secondary orange tach, and orange gi here are the pics

impression: work is top notch!, after riding with gear indicator its so nice to have especially on freeway!


1. gauges off


2. On


3.

www.707photography.org
[canon 60d] [17-50 2.8] [50 1.8]

TonyTheTige-rr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-10-2009, 01:47 AM
Premium Member - BOTM 02/2010
 
Goelz313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,538
Images: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
man that looks awesome. You might have made me decide on a next mod to add to my list.

--2008 Honda CBR600RR Grafitti-- (Sold)
Goelz313 is offline  
post #3 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-10-2009, 01:53 AM Thread Starter
World Superbike Racer
 
TonyTheTige-rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vallejo,California, Riding all year long baby!!!!
Posts: 1,625
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
its a great mod, i enjoy knowing what gear im in so much, sure alot of ppl say just look at your rpms and you know what gear your in, but at times when im shifting thru traffic i just want to look real quickly, i wanted a gear indicator and for some more money i decided to just go this route and its great!

www.707photography.org
[canon 60d] [17-50 2.8] [50 1.8]

TonyTheTige-rr is offline  
post #4 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-10-2009, 01:57 AM
Premium Member - BOTM 02/2010
 
Goelz313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,538
Images: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
looks great. props to BB

--2008 Honda CBR600RR Grafitti-- (Sold)
Goelz313 is offline  
post #5 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-10-2009, 02:50 AM
Moto GP Racer
 
BrowningBuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stuck in Morman Hell w/ my Ex
Posts: 5,705
Images: 122
Thanks: 15
Thanked 32 Times in 21 Posts
Feedback Score: 59 reviews
Thanks for the pics, they look GRRRRRREAT (hahah the pun :) )

and i am with you, if the motoGP guys have one the size of texas what is there to say, know what gear you are in with out a doubt is nice

Never argue with stupid people. They will drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience
Don't argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference.


BrowningBuck is offline  
post #6 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-10-2009, 07:40 AM
Moto GP Racer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 4,709
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
nice looking man.... i wish honda sold them with gear indicator.

09 black 250r : SOLD :(
2008 red 600rr
ajaygraci is offline  
post #7 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-10-2009, 08:20 AM
Moto GP Racer
 
chrisw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,546
Images: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
I gotta admit...one of my favorite mods. I'm addicted to the gear indicator and the red/white/red looks sick at night


chrisw is offline  
post #8 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-10-2009, 09:46 AM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Sadt3arZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 14 reviews
I almost swung for it but decided to just get the color mod. I like the color scheme on ur gauges. Looks good
Sadt3arZ is offline  
post #9 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-10-2009, 10:07 AM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
j_fuggin_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portage, Indiana
Posts: 1,108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
+1
MOTYDESIGN GI mod

NESBA MW #21
Do trackdays in the midwest?? PM me & lets rip together
j_fuggin_t is offline  
post #10 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-10-2009, 12:21 PM
World Superbike Racer
 
powermoose1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,023
Images: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
Damnit...I am trying to save money, not spend it...

But, the mod is just outstanding. The fit and finish looks so good. I think I am going to end up ordering a red/white/blue scheme. It will just have to wait until next month...



www.LMGTFY.com --> give it a try before you ask

Thanks for driving that hybrid...and saving all the gas for me!
powermoose1 is offline  
post #11 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-10-2009, 11:35 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
silent89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 594
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
what does the polarized film look like when its on during the daytime?

silent89 is offline  
post #12 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-11-2009, 02:31 AM
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Socal 626
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
gah i want this so badly. no $ though lol

2005 CBR600RR
Clear alternatives taillight
Proton flushmounts
DDM 6000k Hid's
LED third eye
OES frame sliders
Driven grips
Yoshi RS-5 slipon
Motofansclub fairings
hondahowie is offline  
post #13 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-11-2009, 12:32 PM
Pocketbike Racer
 
Ragemachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: fort bragg, nc
Posts: 377
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
when i get back from iraq im all over this



Quote:
Originally Posted by Smallssssss View Post
I elbow drop the friend zone
Ragemachine is offline  
post #14 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-11-2009, 03:10 PM
Moto GP Racer
 
BrowningBuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stuck in Morman Hell w/ my Ex
Posts: 5,705
Images: 122
Thanks: 15
Thanked 32 Times in 21 Posts
Feedback Score: 59 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by silent89 View Post
what does the polarized film look like when its on during the daytime?
http://www.motydesign.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=31

Never argue with stupid people. They will drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience
Don't argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference.


BrowningBuck is offline  
post #15 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-12-2009, 02:18 AM Thread Starter
World Superbike Racer
 
TonyTheTige-rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vallejo,California, Riding all year long baby!!!!
Posts: 1,625
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
video


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=trn52lauNK0&fmt=18

www.707photography.org
[canon 60d] [17-50 2.8] [50 1.8]


Last edited by TonyTheTige-rr; 05-12-2009 at 02:21 AM.
TonyTheTige-rr is offline  
post #16 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-12-2009, 09:20 AM
Moto GP Racer
 
BrowningBuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stuck in Morman Hell w/ my Ex
Posts: 5,705
Images: 122
Thanks: 15
Thanked 32 Times in 21 Posts
Feedback Score: 59 reviews
DUDE!!!!! great vid!!!!! THANKS FOR PUTTING THAT UP

Never argue with stupid people. They will drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience
Don't argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference.


BrowningBuck is offline  
post #17 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-16-2009, 08:37 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
krisboro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 783
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
How visible are the blacked out gauges in direct sunlight/daytime light?
I love the look of the blacked out stuff, but have only ever seen them at night (kinda reminds me of Knight Rider - yes, I'm getting old)
Are they bright enough to read easily during the day?
This is the one thing that has had me wondering and stopped me getting the mod thus far.
What would you recommend BB? I live in TX where its almost always bright and sunny. Will the blackout be ok, or should I just go with the standard backlights with black LCD numbers?
Also, do you provide instructions for programming the gear indicator?
krisboro is offline  
post #18 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-18-2009, 08:59 AM
Moto GP Racer
 
BrowningBuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stuck in Morman Hell w/ my Ex
Posts: 5,705
Images: 122
Thanks: 15
Thanked 32 Times in 21 Posts
Feedback Score: 59 reviews
yeah so here these should help...the blackout is the same as stock during the day for visability, glare can be a little worse but not bad.

http://www.motydesign.com/images/DG8_Instr_Feb_03.pdf


normal color mod at night






"Black Out" color mod at night






Normal gauges OFF in the day time







"Black Out" OFF in the day time
]





"Black Out" next to Normal


Never argue with stupid people. They will drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience
Don't argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference.


BrowningBuck is offline  
post #19 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-18-2009, 11:00 AM
World Superbike Racer
 
maxpowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,799
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
To those still on the fence in doing this mod, its unbelievable how OEM it looks once complete. I've had the Acumen on my bike for over a year and it still looks OEM. Browningbuck knows what he's is doing.
maxpowers is offline  
post #20 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-18-2009, 12:22 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
chipmunkofdoom2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Stewartstown, PA
Posts: 753
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Curse you, BrowningBuck, for making such an irresistible mod!


I'll be in touch when I have the money

Squid test:

So far, 13109 people (including you) have responded to this Squid Test Survey and have been tabulated.
Of those responses, the average grade is 53. Your grade was 82 (from 0 to 100)

A higher grade indicates a stronger sense of common decency, and a lower grade is an indication of conspicuous squidliness and general disregard for civilized society. Your score indicates that you are a fairly responsible motorcyclist but a bit of a wise-ass.

Hahaha.


chipmunkofdoom2 is offline  
post #21 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-18-2009, 03:39 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
krisboro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 783
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yep, its next on my list as soon as I get this fork conversion and steering damper done; Even though all this stuff is leaving me broke and I'm getting married in July. If my old lady knew how much I've spent on this bike, she'd kill me.
krisboro is offline  
post #22 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-23-2009, 12:18 AM
Knee Dragger
 
danielbui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: salt lake city, utah
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
damn look awesome can he mod it for the 07

2007 CBR 600RR Black/Silver
Proton Blinkers
Akrapovic Slip On
Tripage Tail Light, Adj Fender Eliminator
Shogun Crash Kit
danielbui is offline  
post #23 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-23-2009, 10:29 AM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
krisboro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 783
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yep.

Check out his site: www.motydesign.com
krisboro is offline  
post #24 of 41 (permalink) Old 05-27-2009, 07:48 AM
Premium Member
 
deputy963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: indianapolis, in
Posts: 377
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
As others, I would like to see a pic (or two) of the guages, regular and black out, installed and turned on out in the sun.
deputy963 is offline  
post #25 of 41 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 05:21 AM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
kidnplay01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oz Land Down Under
Posts: 1,307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 20 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
where can one go to buy the blackout stuff and so i can DIY?

Ohlins- Fork Springs, Shock, S.D, UES Kit 20mm, PCIII, Velocity Stack mod, RS-5 C.F Yoshi, Dynoed, K&N Air Filter, Cox Radiator Guard, Powers Race Railz mod, MOTY Battery, Pazzo Levers, Harris Grips, Stomp Grips, Ram mounting, Custom Fairings, Custom led gauges, C.F -Hugger-Sprocket cover,Exhaust,Heel, Chain, Engine,& clutch guards. Trippage led pegs, 520 Conv, -1 +2 Superlight Sprocket, Comp werkes FE, Dunlop Q2's, EBC Kevlar Heavy Duty Clutch/Springs, Vesrah RJL Pads,Braided brake lines
kidnplay01 is offline  
post #26 of 41 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 07:55 AM
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
blackout makes it a ton easier to read IMO...
Jayhovah is offline  
post #27 of 41 (permalink) Old 07-15-2009, 04:53 AM
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: socal
Posts: 165
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i agree with deputy963. please post up some pics of blacked out mod, with the gauges on in the sunlight....
0c6ooRR is offline  
post #28 of 41 (permalink) Old 07-16-2009, 04:08 PM
Lifetime Premium
 
Civicguy808's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 838
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Looks sick!!! Wish i had tons of money to blow on everything i want! Haha

2008 CBR600RR Graffiti ~ R&G Frame Sliders ~ GL Signs Red Retro-Reflective Rim Tape ~ IWIN Integrated Taillight ~ Custom FE ~ DP Swingarm Spools ~ Watsen Design MicroAlloy Style Flushmounts ~ ZG Double Bubble Windscreen

Gear ~ Shoei RF-1000 Helmet ~ Alpinestars RC-1 Jacket ~ Alpinestars SP-1 Gloves ~ Alpinestars S-MX 4 Boots
Civicguy808 is offline  
post #29 of 41 (permalink) Old 07-16-2009, 04:46 PM
AMA Supersport Racer
 
DaneL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,378
Thanks: 19
Thanked 28 Times in 21 Posts
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
i want to do this mod, but i think i had better wait to have it done until i repaint the bike.
DaneL is offline  
post #30 of 41 (permalink) Old 07-20-2009, 11:00 PM
Knee Dragger
 
HighlyFavored0420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Moore, OK
Posts: 248
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Very cool mod, I plan on having one soon.

Side note: I think it would be very beneficial to have a preview image available on your site. I.E Pick your colors out, and have an interactive gauge so they can preview what they want, and know exactly what it would look like.

'08 motofans custom - crg, akra, puig db, watsens, audi, IT tail light, tripage fe & gas cap, r&g, ddm


DIY HID on/off switch with LED running lights: http://www.600rr.net/vb/104-07-013-rr/150450-diy-dual-headlight-switch-led-running-lights.html
HighlyFavored0420 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 600RR.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome