Replaced fairings and now it wont start FML : Honda CBR 600RR Sportbike Forum : 600RR.Net

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Honda 600RR Prices
Go Back   600RR.net > Technical Talk > Troubleshooting

Troubleshooting Having trouble with your bike? Common know issues or trobuleshooting questions here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2012, 08:25 PM   #1
HiImBrian
Knee Dragger
 
HiImBrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 19
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Replaced fairings and now it wont start FML

What the heck am I forgetting here!
2003 600rr stock

The bike will turn over and I hear the fuel pump prime when I turn the key, but it wont fire. Initially, after I wired in my new blinkers I started the bike just to make sure it ran and blinkers worked and it fired right up. I turned it off after about 5 seconds. Next, I went to pull the bike out of the garage to move it today and it fired up again for about 3 seconds or so before I stalled #newb. After that it wouldn't start again. I kinda think both times it started up I was just running off the fuel in the lines, and now that the lines are empty the bike wont start.

I unplugged the large blue and large white plug for the front fairing: These have been plugged back in

I took off the tip sensor to get the headlight assembly out of the front fairing: This was never unplugged and I bolted it back up.

I don't have a clue where I should look next??? Help!
HiImBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-19-2012, 08:27 PM   #2
Adamo3890
Knee Dragger
 
Adamo3890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 217
Thanks: 31
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
U check ur battery terminals?


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
Adamo3890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 08:34 PM   #3
White RepsoL
AMA Supersport Racer
 
White RepsoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 666
Thanks: 52
Thanked 47 Times in 43 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If your tip sensor is not mounted correctly it wont fire...
White RepsoL is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to White RepsoL For This Useful Post:
zipties (11-19-2012)
Old 11-19-2012, 08:44 PM   #4
XSNRG
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Barbados
Posts: 20
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by White RepsoL View Post
If your tip sensor is not mounted correctly it wont fire...
+1 on tip sensor
XSNRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 08:51 PM   #5
HiImBrian
Knee Dragger
 
HiImBrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 19
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How could it be the tip sensor if the bike actually started a couple times?
HiImBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 08:58 PM   #6
Adamo3890
Knee Dragger
 
Adamo3890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 217
Thanks: 31
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Bad gas?
Don't know man just rattlin stuff off.
Try givin it a little throttle as it turns over


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
Adamo3890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:07 PM   #7
HiImBrian
Knee Dragger
 
HiImBrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 19
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamo3890 View Post
Bad gas?
Don't know man just rattlin stuff off.
Try givin it a little throttle as it turns over


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
Gas is fresh.
I tried giving it throttle and it started and revved up a bunch and then died.
HiImBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:14 PM   #8
Dynamic
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Dynamic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver/Whistler
Posts: 1,290
Thanks: 43
Thanked 146 Times in 132 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Maybe pinched one of the tip sensor wires when bolting stuff back together.
__________________
Dynamic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:38 PM   #9
HiImBrian
Knee Dragger
 
HiImBrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 19
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dynamic View Post
Maybe pinched one of the tip sensor wires when bolting stuff back together.
Again...Would the bike have started a couple times though?
HiImBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:48 PM   #10
sincalirider
*BOTM Feb '11, Mar '12*
 
sincalirider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Visalia, Ca
Posts: 23,603
Thanks: 1,003
Thanked 1,180 Times in 895 Posts
Feedback Score: 27 reviews
You said you stalled it. You sure the bike isn't in gear?
__________________
sincalirider is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sincalirider For This Useful Post:
Jbryan (11-20-2012)
Old 11-19-2012, 10:12 PM   #11
Dynamic
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Dynamic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver/Whistler
Posts: 1,290
Thanks: 43
Thanked 146 Times in 132 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiImBrian View Post
Again...Would the bike have started a couple times though?
Starting it caused a current to run thru the wire shorting something out then causing it to stall thinking it may be tipped over and now it's stuck in the tip over mode.

I'm just speculating here as I'm not an electrician and hate electrical but it wouldn't hurt to double check.
__________________
Dynamic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:44 PM   #12
bejbis
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 118
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by sincalirider View Post
You said you stalled it. You sure the bike isn't in gear?
I would put my money on this one.


Quote:
Originally Posted by White RepsoL View Post
If your tip sensor is not mounted correctly it wont fire...

If the tip sensor isnt mounted correctly he wouldnt be hearing the pump prime.
bejbis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:01 AM   #13
HiImBrian
Knee Dragger
 
HiImBrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 19
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by sincalirider View Post
You said you stalled it. You sure the bike isn't in gear?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bejbis View Post
I would put my money on this one.

If the tip sensor isnt mounted correctly he wouldnt be hearing the pump prime.
The ultimate diss :( Yes I stalled it, then I pulled in the clutch and couldn't get it started again. I also later set the bike up in neutral and couldn't get it to fire.

After talking with my roommate about it, he said he had a similar problem that ended up being a bad ground. One of the prongs in his plugs broke off and caused the bike not to fire.

bejbis is right, if the fuel pump primed, then it can't be a bad tip sensor.
HiImBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 01:52 AM   #14
sincalirider
*BOTM Feb '11, Mar '12*
 
sincalirider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Visalia, Ca
Posts: 23,603
Thanks: 1,003
Thanked 1,180 Times in 895 Posts
Feedback Score: 27 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiImBrian View Post
The ultimate diss :( Yes I stalled it, then I pulled in the clutch and couldn't get it started again. I also later set the bike up in neutral and couldn't get it to fire.

After talking with my roommate about it, he said he had a similar problem that ended up being a bad ground. One of the prongs in his plugs broke off and caused the bike not to fire.

bejbis is right, if the fuel pump primed, then it can't be a bad tip sensor.
Hey, you never know. We all make bone head mistakes every once in a while.

So is it turning over but not firing or not turning over at all? If it's just turning over you might have flooded it with constant on/offs. Not as common on FI bikes but it's still possible.
__________________
sincalirider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:49 AM   #15
HiImBrian
Knee Dragger
 
HiImBrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 19
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by sincalirider View Post
Hey, you never know. We all make bone head mistakes every once in a while.

So is it turning over but not firing or not turning over at all? If it's just turning over you might have flooded it with constant on/offs. Not as common on FI bikes but it's still possible.
It's turning over but not firing. The only way to fix a flooded motor is to let it turn over a bunch right?...I've done that.

I wasn't able to check the plugs with a voltmeter this morning as the guy I work with must have taken it. But the plugs didn't look to have any broken prongs.
HiImBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:50 AM   #16
tary preisser
Moto GP Racer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: shithole o' Nor Cal
Posts: 2,704
Thanks: 356
Thanked 217 Times in 204 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sounds like a ground issue....
tary preisser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:39 PM   #17
sincalirider
*BOTM Feb '11, Mar '12*
 
sincalirider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Visalia, Ca
Posts: 23,603
Thanks: 1,003
Thanked 1,180 Times in 895 Posts
Feedback Score: 27 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiImBrian View Post
It's turning over but not firing. The only way to fix a flooded motor is to let it turn over a bunch right?...I've done that.

I wasn't able to check the plugs with a voltmeter this morning as the guy I work with must have taken it. But the plugs didn't look to have any broken prongs.
Yeah, with the throttle wide open.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tary preisser View Post
sounds like a ground issue....
This would be my conclusion as well. The bike sounds mechanically sound since you can keep it turning over.
__________________
sincalirider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:34 PM   #18
Dynamic
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Dynamic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver/Whistler
Posts: 1,290
Thanks: 43
Thanked 146 Times in 132 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Any updates?
__________________
Dynamic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 04:51 PM   #19
HiImBrian
Knee Dragger
 
HiImBrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 19
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well starting the bike wot did nothing, so it's not flooded.

I tried checking for bad grounds and I think I've concluded that I just don't really know how to go about doing this.
HiImBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:19 PM   #20
Dynamic
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Dynamic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver/Whistler
Posts: 1,290
Thanks: 43
Thanked 146 Times in 132 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Shitty deal, let us know how it goes.
__________________
Dynamic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:24 PM   #21
jmarquez808
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
check everything you changed or did in reverse. If it worked before its somthing you touched. bas in correct position??
jmarquez808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:28 PM   #22
Adamo3890
Knee Dragger
 
Adamo3890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 217
Thanks: 31
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yea wiring isn't my cup-o-tea either. Id get a wiring diagram for it and check the grounds from there. There has to be a diagram online somewhere for ur bike


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
Adamo3890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:35 PM   #23
HiImBrian
Knee Dragger
 
HiImBrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 19
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamo3890 View Post
Yea wiring isn't my cup-o-tea either. Id get a wiring diagram for it and check the grounds from there. There has to be a diagram online somewhere for ur bike


Sent from my iPhone using Motorcycle.com Free App
Well I put the pos part of the voltmeter to the pos terminal and then stick the neg into each of the little ports in the plug to make sure i've got voltage. Some have voltage and some don't. Only problem I have is idk which should have voltage and which should not; or if they all should!? My buddy is going to swing by in an hour, but I don't have much faith really. I'd rather not take the front fairing off again if I don't have to :(
HiImBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 08:19 AM   #24
HiImBrian
Knee Dragger
 
HiImBrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 19
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If I want to check for spark or that there is in fact power going to the spark plus, could I just stick the pos and neg terminals of my voltmeter in one of the white plugs that connects to the spark plug? Then try to start the bike and see if there is voltage. Does this make sense or is there a better way?

P.s. it's my birthday today and all I really want is for this bike to start!

Sent from my ADR6350 using Motorcycle.com Free App
HiImBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 09:36 AM   #25
HiImBrian
Knee Dragger
 
HiImBrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 19
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tried sticking the pos and neg prongs of my voltmeter into the white plug that goes to my spark plug, but the prongs wouldn't fit because the holes were too small.

I then ripped off the front end again and sure enough the tip sensor is all wired in and mounted as it should be. Anyway I can test if this is bad or somehow the problem?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG1347.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	93.2 KB
ID:	30915  
HiImBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:51 AM   #26
wrathsrr
Lifetime Premium
 
wrathsrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Saline, Mi....
Posts: 3,544
Thanks: 168
Thanked 350 Times in 317 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
You said you thought it was running off fuel in lines and now might be empty. Did you pull the gas tank or tip it? Try turning key on and hit start. Don't crank too long. If it don't start right up turn key back off. Do this on/start/off a few times. may need to get fuel back in lines. Killswitch to run position? Not sure if fuel pump should prime if killswitch is off so spitballing there.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by -Rizzo- View Post
hey pound town is going to take over as a saying
Keeper of the Bucket-2W1R

My build thread...
[/I]http://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?p=6111490#post6111490
wrathsrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:58 AM   #27
HiImBrian
Knee Dragger
 
HiImBrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 19
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathsrr View Post
You said you thought it was running off fuel in lines and now might be empty. Did you pull the gas tank or tip it? Try turning key on and hit start. Don't crank too long. If it don't start right up turn key back off. Do this on/start/off a few times. may need to get fuel back in lines. Killswitch to run position? Not sure if fuel pump should prime if killswitch is off so spitballing there.
Yea I flipped the tank up to get a bolt I dropped out from on top of the motor. I put it back in its initial position and primed the bike by flipping the kill switch on and off a few times. No dice.

I've got the front end off again and I'm going to try and bypass the tip sensor to see if that's the problem. Only issue is I can't get the stinkin thing unplugged!
HiImBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:42 PM   #28
HiImBrian
Knee Dragger
 
HiImBrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 19
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I shorted out the tip sensor and it did exactly what the video shows. I then took out the short and plugged it back in like normal and same thing. If I give it throttle it will try and start but wont stay running. Doesn't really sound like it's running right either...help please :(

HiImBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:53 PM   #29
Dynamic
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Dynamic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver/Whistler
Posts: 1,290
Thanks: 43
Thanked 146 Times in 132 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sounds like its boging out when you give it throttle.
__________________
Dynamic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:55 PM   #30
HiImBrian
Knee Dragger
 
HiImBrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 19
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dynamic View Post
Sounds like its boging out when you give it throttle.
The video is a tad glitchy, but it revs up when i give it throttle...Let go of the throttle and it dies.
HiImBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:49 AM.



Powered by: vBulletin | vBadvanced CMPS & Gallery
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum