Defeat Clutch Switch? : Honda CBR 600RR Sportbike Forum : 600RR.Net

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Honda 600RR Prices
Go Back   600RR.net > Track Talk > Racers

Racers All u racers and want to be racers

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2007, 03:52 PM   #1
Triman5
Training Wheel Hero
 
Triman5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Defeat Clutch Switch?

I'm a trackday only rider, and am setting up a new '07. I want to remove the left bar switchgear but need to know how to defeat the clutch switch. I thought one of you might have had to do this and could pass it along. Thanks for any help.
Triman5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-18-2007, 08:57 AM   #2
Wolley
World Superbike Racer
 
Wolley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 1,876
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
I removed the switch on my 05 and all you need to do is start the bike always in neutral.
Wolley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 12:58 PM   #3
AlpineJim
Moto GP Racer
 
AlpineJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,910
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
I jumped the wires BUT just be careful not to start it in gear and without the clutch pulled LOL
__________________
Matthew
03' 600rr - Track
AlpineJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 07:59 PM   #4
REM6A
WCR Racer
 
REM6A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Chester PA
Posts: 1,550
Images: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Want to hear a rumor, don't tell anyone...

If you remove that switch, for some reason on certain bikes you will cause the ECU to divert to another map 10hp lower than oem. Why? Don't know but it shows up on the dyno on certain bikes.
And if you are racing against me disregard this and cut away.
(The shop is going to kill me)
__________________
773 Expert
I am the guy the track Marshal warned you about.

Sponsors are anyone who will give me money.

http://www.sponsorhouse.com/members/MeadeR
http://actionfund.roadracingworld.com/
REM6A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 08:22 PM   #5
Gecko5
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Gecko5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 967
Images: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by REM6A View Post
Want to hear a rumor, don't tell anyone...

If you remove that switch, for some reason on certain bikes you will cause the ECU to divert to another map 10hp lower than oem. Why? Don't know but it shows up on the dyno on certain bikes.
And if you are racing against me disregard this and cut away.
(The shop is going to kill me)
That happened to a friend of mine's 750. He could never figure out why he was losing lenghts on the straight aways.
__________________
03 CBR 600RR
-- OEM Cowl w/ custom decal, click here.
-- Scotts Steering Stabilizer
-- Vortex Rearsets
-- Arata Full exhaust w/ PCIII
-- Ohlins shock and cartridge kit
-- Catalyst Racing Composites bodywork

Gecko5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 09:44 PM   #6
Triman5
Training Wheel Hero
 
Triman5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by REM6A View Post
Want to hear a rumor, don't tell anyone...

If you remove that switch, for some reason on certain bikes you will cause the ECU to divert to another map 10hp lower than oem. Why? Don't know but it shows up on the dyno on certain bikes.
And if you are racing against me disregard this and cut away.
(The shop is going to kill me)
Urban legend. It's a normally open switch. ECU has no way of knowing if the switch is in the circuit or not. And the stock ECU only stores one map at a time. Since the Power Commander over-rides the stock mapping, it's a moot point in any case.
Triman5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 10:02 PM   #7
REM6A
WCR Racer
 
REM6A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Chester PA
Posts: 1,550
Images: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
...ohm resistance... it knows.

And a PC-III only runs 4 out of 8 injectors... they (other 4 shower injectors) run off the OEM ECU.
Urban legend worth the risk with me in a draft behind you going down the straight. I end up blowing you doors off because of my draft or you disconnected some nickel and dime switch... still worth the risk?
__________________
773 Expert
I am the guy the track Marshal warned you about.

Sponsors are anyone who will give me money.

http://www.sponsorhouse.com/members/MeadeR
http://actionfund.roadracingworld.com/
REM6A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 10:36 PM   #8
AlpineJim
Moto GP Racer
 
AlpineJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,910
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by REM6A View Post
...ohm resistance... it knows.
its a switch.....
__________________
Matthew
03' 600rr - Track
AlpineJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 10:41 PM   #9
Triman5
Training Wheel Hero
 
Triman5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by REM6A View Post
...ohm resistance... it knows.

And a PC-III only runs 4 out of 8 injectors... they (other 4 shower injectors) run off the OEM ECU.
Urban legend worth the risk with me in a draft behind you going down the straight. I end up blowing you doors off because of my draft or you disconnected some nickel and dime switch... still worth the risk?
How much horsepower will I lose when I disconnect the kickstand switch? If you want to make a credible point, you need to provide some real, verifiable information.
Triman5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 06:14 AM   #10
REM6A
WCR Racer
 
REM6A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Chester PA
Posts: 1,550
Images: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have no idea, its only from what I have seen on bikes put on the Dyno.
The bike had 110 with the switch active. 99hp with it removed. Nothing changed but the switch cut out.
This was only done after someone complained the bike felt slow and removed the switch.

Just try it and let us know.

Kickstand switch, lol nice.
__________________
773 Expert
I am the guy the track Marshal warned you about.

Sponsors are anyone who will give me money.

http://www.sponsorhouse.com/members/MeadeR
http://actionfund.roadracingworld.com/
REM6A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 09:15 AM   #11
Wolley
World Superbike Racer
 
Wolley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 1,876
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by REM6A View Post
...ohm resistance... it knows.

And a PC-III only runs 4 out of 8 injectors... they (other 4 shower injectors) run off the OEM ECU.
Urban legend worth the risk with me in a draft behind you going down the straight. I end up blowing you doors off because of my draft or you disconnected some nickel and dime switch... still worth the risk?
Like you really need the extra 10 ponies. Maybe I'll cut our switch at night to even up the odds a little

Plus I think this may only affect the suzukis. I haven't seen of any others complaining of this
Wolley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 01:11 PM   #12
Gecko5
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Gecko5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 967
Images: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
My friends 05 GSX-R 750 had this problem, his race bike was at the tuner and after comparing dynos to other bikes with the same mods. The results were quite different and they ended up calling Suzuki (American) to figure out why there was a big difference. They mentioned it could be the clutch switch and suggested replacing it with a another unit and not cut this one.

But, he had cut the wiring quite far down the wire so, who knows if he cut some other wires to. But, this is the only case I have heard about this being a problem.
__________________
03 CBR 600RR
-- OEM Cowl w/ custom decal, click here.
-- Scotts Steering Stabilizer
-- Vortex Rearsets
-- Arata Full exhaust w/ PCIII
-- Ohlins shock and cartridge kit
-- Catalyst Racing Composites bodywork

Gecko5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 05:02 PM   #13
jasonbw
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So the end result would be, for the track bike to just leave the left hand switchgear on the bar? Or is there a neat racers trick I havent learnt yet of having the clutch switch still wired...

If theres no takers then I might pull it apart tonight and just wire straight from the incoming switchgear loom into the clutch switch, will let you know how it goes.

JasonBW
jasonbw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 05:13 PM   #14
slab42
World Superbike Racer
 
slab42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Gloucester, MA
Posts: 1,510
Images: 13
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't know anything about this 'urban legend' but in theory, the ECU could know something is up. If it 'sees' the clutch is 'pulled in' all the time, but you are giving it throttle, it would know you messed with it.

why do you want to remove a clutch switch anyway? just curious...
__________________
06 Silver 600RR
My mod thread
slab42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 06:06 PM   #15
jasonbw
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by slab42 View Post
why do you want to remove a clutch switch anyway? just curious...
Just to remove the switchgear on the left side as its unnecessary (lights, indicators, horn switch etc) problem is the clutch switch is part of its wiring loom, so removing this switchgear will remove the clutch switch.

P.s. Good point on the 'see' its pulled in.... It compliments REM6A's suggestion nicely.
P.p.s. Thanks REM6A for opening up with that info ! Appreciated! :beer:
jasonbw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 06:16 PM   #16
RShackleford
Moto GP Racer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,672
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
i just did this.

remove the entire harness from the clip on to the main harness. the clutch switch will stay bolted to the clutch.
then find the wires in the main harness that connect to the clutch switch and just splice into those and run 2 wires to the clutch.
for my 07 it was green with a red stripe and green with a white stripe.
now the clutch switch works and i got rid of that huge switch group and harness.
RShackleford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 08:27 PM   #17
jasonbw
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OUTSTANDING!!!!

Thanks RShackleford, glad it was as easy as that.
jasonbw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 11:37 AM   #18
biger
Knee Dragger
 
biger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greece
Posts: 240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i removed all .... no problem.
__________________
07 600 RR race only

http://clubs.pathfinder.gr/grpan


biger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 02:01 PM   #19
kiggy74
AMA Supersport Racer
 
kiggy74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 1,225
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
I just removed the whole thing as well. I disconnected all of the controls on the left side from the connector. I pulled the wires out (GR and GW) out of the connector on the bike side and spliced them together. I haven't ridden it since removing, but it started right up. Only problem is that it will turnover while its still in gear.

The problem with the bike losing power is documented with the Suzuki ECU. I've not heard of this issue with any other make though. Suzuki programmed their ECU to drop to a low power map when it reads the clutch is continuously pulled in to prevent new riders from dumping the clutch and looping the bike.
__________________
WERA #262
2007 CBR600RR
kiggy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 03:31 PM   #20
troy45
AMA Supersport Racer
 
troy45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 921
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Suzuki do a few sneaky things with their ignitions having a resistance where you think it's a switch but the clutch switch usually just goes to a relay circuit which is wired so you can only operate the starter motor under certain conditions.

Certainly on the K1-K4 model 600/750's and 1000's there's no way the ECU can tell you've changed the clutch switch for anything else. I'm well familiar with the wiring for these as I built a race loom for my mates 600K4 complete with the ignition bypassed so it all powered up off the kill switch. Not a straight forward mod so I got to learn exactly what everything does in the starter and ignition circuits.

So I say it's a myth on the Gixers unless it's something specific to the latest generation i.e. K5 onwards 1000's and the K6 600/750's. I'll gladly explain to anyone who wants to know how the clutch switch actually functions in the circuit.

The 600RR uses the same clutch switch as other manufacturers and is just a plain old switch - open or closed, nothing more complicated than that so it's no problem to link out if you remove the switch gear.

Last edited by troy45; 11-08-2007 at 03:33 PM.
troy45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 02:50 PM   #21
RShackleford
Moto GP Racer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,672
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
just do it my way,
it allows you to completly remove the harness there and still have the switch.

its a track bike yeah but it will come in very handy that day you brain fart and stall it for whatever reason and need to restart. without that switch you will have to go back to neutral before it will start
RShackleford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2007, 12:52 PM   #22
kiggy74
AMA Supersport Racer
 
kiggy74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 1,225
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by RShackleford View Post
just do it my way,
it allows you to completly remove the harness there and still have the switch.

its a track bike yeah but it will come in very handy that day you brain fart and stall it for whatever reason and need to restart. without that switch you will have to go back to neutral before it will start

+1. You've also got to expect that at some point someone else will hop on your bike and try to start it up. I'd hate to see them dump it because they didn't know about your switch

I got to thinking about this and decided to rework what I had originally done, which was completely defeat the clutch switch.

I decided to go back to the stock switch pod on the left bar and pulled out the wiring for the clutch switch. I coated these wires with some shrink tubing, installed some connectors on the ends, and connected it back up to the correlating wires on the bike. Now the clutch switch works as designed.


I also decided to run the wiring for the BAS along with the clutch switch wires, which helps clean things up a bit.

__________________
WERA #262
2007 CBR600RR
kiggy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 01:46 AM   #23
philthethrillohio
Knee Dragger
 
philthethrillohio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cincinnati,OH
Posts: 181
Thanks: 25
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by troy45 View Post
Suzuki do a few sneaky things with their ignitions having a resistance where you think it's a switch but the clutch switch usually just goes to a relay circuit which is wired so you can only operate the starter motor under certain conditions.

Certainly on the K1-K4 model 600/750's and 1000's there's no way the ECU can tell you've changed the clutch switch for anything else. I'm well familiar with the wiring for these as I built a race loom for my mates 600K4 complete with the ignition bypassed so it all powered up off the kill switch. Not a straight forward mod so I got to learn exactly what everything does in the starter and ignition circuits.

So I say it's a myth on the Gixers unless it's something specific to the latest generation i.e. K5 onwards 1000's and the K6 600/750's. I'll gladly explain to anyone who wants to know how the clutch switch actually functions in the circuit.

The 600RR uses the same clutch switch as other manufacturers and is just a plain old switch - open or closed, nothing more complicated than that so it's no problem to link out if you remove the switch gear.
Switch gear ? Explain.. my switch is disconeccted and amooling to reconnect
__________________
Id rather sweat then blead
philthethrillohio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:22 PM   #24
philthethrillohio
Knee Dragger
 
philthethrillohio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cincinnati,OH
Posts: 181
Thanks: 25
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so i wired my clucth switch up by finding the plugs in the harness running wires from those ports to clutch switch. when the clutch sensor that is behind the lever is full open all the time the bike runs way diff. it almost is sluggish and then power band kicks in way high like 10k. so then i run it normal and its fine . but if you just jump the two connectors in the harness it runs good as well. i notcied there is less engine breakin also when the switch is jumped
__________________
Id rather sweat then blead
philthethrillohio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 02:32 PM   #25
03WisconsinRR
BOTM Winner 07/12
 
03WisconsinRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,676
Images: 8
Thanks: 63
Thanked 119 Times in 102 Posts
Feedback Score: 17 reviews
You realize the clutch switch is a “Normally Open” switch right? Essentially what you’re saying is if you had the switch installed, your bike would run better if you could have the clutch pulled in all time…
__________________
08'RR
Akra Evo TI - Bazzaz ZfiTc - Acumen Gear Indicator - Yoyo Stay - Keyless Mod - Michelin Power Cup - HRC overflow - ECUnleashed
Yoyo Slipper - Galfer Lines - HRC Rear Res - HRC Throttle - Woodcraft Sliders - Vortex Rearsets - Servo Mod - Samco Hoses
BMC - Hotbodies - Brembo RCS19 - Penske 8987 & 20mm Valving - ASV Levers - Rk 520 - GPR Damper - EBC XC Rotors
Woodcraft Clipons - Gilles Chain Adjuster - R&R Subframe - PAIR Mod - Cox Rad Guard - MOYT 4 cell - Factory Pro Shift Star
03WisconsinRR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 03:07 PM   #26
MikeyP
Moto GP Racer
 
MikeyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,309
Thanks: 263
Thanked 257 Times in 198 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Just remove it. I wouldn't splice the wires. It's a good safety measure to not have it start in gear.
__________________
2008 CBR 600RR #1 (Graffiti) street
2008 CBR 600RR #2 track
CMRA #599


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyP View Post
Unfortunately bikes fall over. It's in their nature.
It's our job to keep them upright, but we are only men.
MikeyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:07 AM   #27
EfiniGTX
Pocketbike Racer
 
EfiniGTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 300
Thanks: 7
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
My friend's 07 had the switch jumped because of an aftermarket easy pull, and it caused the ECU to run funny. The bike had a hesitation at certain RPM, and they were pulling their hair out trying to figure it out. Then they disconnected the jumper from the clutch switch al bike runs perfect again.
__________________

09 Phoenix track slut
07 Ducati Sport Classic Biposto for sale
07 Ducati 1098s sold
EfiniGTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:32 PM.



Powered by: vBulletin | vBadvanced CMPS & Gallery
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum