How do you get rid of throttle play? : Honda CBR 600RR Sportbike Forum : 600RR.Net

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Honda 600RR Prices
Go Back   600RR.net > Technical Talk > DIY Write up's

DIY Write up's This forum should be used for any step by step descriptions of a job you are tackling. Pictures are a big help to clarify the process

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2009, 05:04 PM   #1
MachRider
World Superbike Racer
 
MachRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,235
Images: 8
Thanks: 232
Thanked 72 Times in 60 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How do you get rid of throttle play?

I have actually never known this, even though I have been riding for years. How to I get rid of that little bit of slack the the throttle grip has? I have ridden bikes that have no movement of the throttle without it actually moving the throttle cable.

This has gotta be a simple fix, right? It's probably even in my manual... isn't it?
__________________
2007 Red Motorcycle
Front and Rear Disc Brakes
Performance Tires
Bright Headlights
Handlebar Grips
Completely Bone Stock Fuel Tank
Tuned by Valentino Rossi
MachRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-19-2009, 04:30 AM   #2
BLACK ICE RR
Lifetime Premium
 
BLACK ICE RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 586
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
yeah I kinda have this too... maybe it comes from aftermarket grips
__________________
2005 CBR 600RR Tribal
Pinebox custom exhaust + header
PCv + pair mod
Ape CCT
Vortex Clip-ons
MOTY battery
ZG DB
Milled rear rotor
55w HIDs
Rear res delete mod
flush mounts, frame sliders

Get outta here troll!
BLACK ICE RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 04:30 AM   #3
BLACK ICE RR
Lifetime Premium
 
BLACK ICE RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 586
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
yeah I kinda have this too... maybe it comes from aftermarket grips
__________________
2005 CBR 600RR Tribal
Pinebox custom exhaust + header
PCv + pair mod
Ape CCT
Vortex Clip-ons
MOTY battery
ZG DB
Milled rear rotor
55w HIDs
Rear res delete mod
flush mounts, frame sliders

Get outta here troll!
BLACK ICE RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 05:59 AM   #4
MachRider
World Superbike Racer
 
MachRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,235
Images: 8
Thanks: 232
Thanked 72 Times in 60 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have stock grips. I'm not talking about the grip twisting on the bar a bit extra, I mean the actual throttle seems to have about 1/4" of turn before any throttle is really applied. I used to have this all the time on dirtbikes, but much worse.
__________________
2007 Red Motorcycle
Front and Rear Disc Brakes
Performance Tires
Bright Headlights
Handlebar Grips
Completely Bone Stock Fuel Tank
Tuned by Valentino Rossi
MachRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 08:03 AM   #5
powermoose1
World Superbike Racer
 
powermoose1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,023
Images: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
There are two cables coming off the throttle housing. To get rid of the play, you need to tighten the lower one (I believe...doing it from memory here). To do so, loosen the lock nut and tiwst the adjuster (a longer piece of metal just below the lock nut. This will tighten the cable and remove slack from the cable, which will eliminate the play. Then tighten the lock nut back down.

Sorry, I am at work, or I would be able to give a better description.

CORRECTION: IT IS THE UPPER CABLE (SEE BELOW)
__________________


www.LMGTFY.com --> give it a try before you ask

Thanks for driving that hybrid...and saving all the gas for me!

Last edited by powermoose1; 05-19-2009 at 12:54 PM.
powermoose1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to powermoose1 For This Useful Post:
MikeyP (11-28-2012)
Old 05-19-2009, 08:41 AM   #6
Jim Moore
Moto GP Racer
 
Jim Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,625
Thanks: 5
Thanked 154 Times in 110 Posts
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by powermoose1 View Post
There are two cables coming off the throttle housing. To get rid of the play, you need to tighten the lower one (I believe...doing it from memory here). To do so, loosen the lock nut and tiwst the adjuster (a longer piece of metal just below the lock nut. This will tighten the cable and remove slack from the cable, which will eliminate the play. Then tighten the lock nut back down.

Sorry, I am at work, or I would be able to give a better description.
He's right, but it is the upper cable.
Jim Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Moore For This Useful Post:
MikeyP (11-28-2012)
Old 05-19-2009, 10:40 AM   #7
powermoose1
World Superbike Racer
 
powermoose1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,023
Images: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Moore View Post
He's right, but it is the upper cable.
Ahh, thanks for the correction! I knew it was one of them.
__________________


www.LMGTFY.com --> give it a try before you ask

Thanks for driving that hybrid...and saving all the gas for me!
powermoose1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 11:08 AM   #8
James06CBR
Moto GP Racer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 3,823
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You should have some play in there or you will go over a bump and jerk the throttle. Some people who have been riding for a while can ride without any throttle play, but that isn't suggested to noobs. The stock throttle play is to be set to: 2-4mm or 1/16-3/16 in
__________________
"People take different roads seeking fulfillment and happiness. Just because they're not on your road doesn't mean they've gotten lost."

"The proper gear can make the last guy finish first!"

"I didn't lose my mind, I sold it on Ebay."

James06CBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 11:44 AM   #9
Wes600rr
Whore Police
 
Wes600rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 16,493
Thanks: 4
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 17 reviews
I liked having no play but honda says you should have a little play in it. Take it out a little at a time and and see how you like it. But yeah.. Tighten the top cable, its easy....
__________________
www.KneeDownPhotos.com

RIP Phatty

Quote:
Originally Posted by chipmunkofdoom2 View Post
Don't shout "I'M STUPID!" electronically, for all the Internet to hear, then get angry when we call you stupid.
Wes600rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 11:55 AM   #10
DragonStang
Lifetime Premium
 
DragonStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St.Louis, MO
Posts: 1,752
Images: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Thanks for posting this, I've got too much play in mine. Same exact problem as the OP.
DragonStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 01:09 AM   #11
MachRider
World Superbike Racer
 
MachRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,235
Images: 8
Thanks: 232
Thanked 72 Times in 60 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have been riding and had race training for two years, I've got plenty of experience for my age too!

I've always ridden offroad with the play taken out, I'm used to it on my CBR1000RR, I just never did the work on my own.

Thanks for the info!
__________________
2007 Red Motorcycle
Front and Rear Disc Brakes
Performance Tires
Bright Headlights
Handlebar Grips
Completely Bone Stock Fuel Tank
Tuned by Valentino Rossi

Last edited by MachRider; 05-20-2009 at 02:26 PM.
MachRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 07:46 AM   #12
espngo
Knee Dragger
 
espngo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Great thread. Will try to ajust mine too.
__________________
espngo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 09:59 AM   #13
CF This
Knee Dragger
 
CF This's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 155
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
is the throttle play really that necessary? i dont have as much experience but i usually just feel it when im starting from a stop, and i doubt a bump would be an issue then

and can it be adjusted the same for 03-06 600s as well?
CF This is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 10:07 AM   #14
CELO
Street BOTM Winner 10/11
 
CELO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gilbert, AZ originally from SAN DIEGO
Posts: 4,320
Images: 121
Thanks: 79
Thanked 88 Times in 79 Posts
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
good thread. i'll have to try this. thanks.
__________________


R.I.P SPC Dylan Reid 03SEP1986-16OCT2010.
R.I.P. Phatstud 05/08/1980-10/19/2010.
R.I.P Marco Simoncelli #58 20JAN1987-23OCT2011
CELO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 10:34 AM   #15
NewRedRider
Moto GP Racer
 
NewRedRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, Al.
Posts: 11,237
Images: 24
Thanks: 1
Thanked 36 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
You can also recalibrate the throttle position sensor (TPS) with a PCIII and remove the "digital" slack Honda puts in the throttle. Mine was at -3% when I recalibrated.

I'd highly recommend you do both the cables and the TPS recalibration. Just make sure when you're adjusting the cables that it does NOT raise the RPM of the bike when you turn the bars from full-lock right to left.
__________________

NewRedRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 10:49 AM   #16
Gear Head
Knee Dragger
 
Gear Head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 236
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
what's the lower cable control then?
Gear Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 10:55 AM   #17
ShankerD
AMA Supersport Racer
 
ShankerD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West des moines, IA USA
Posts: 1,139
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I have mine free about 2-3mm. I adjust it every few months. But, my apt place and a few places i go have too many speed bumps or just bumpy roads.

And redrider mentions a very important point, I always check that the rpms don't go up when i move my handle bars from one side full lock to the other side.
__________________
2007 Black CBR600RR



I need a mint condition silver tail
ShankerD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 11:01 AM   #18
powermoose1
World Superbike Racer
 
powermoose1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,023
Images: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gear Head View Post
what's the lower cable control then?
It pushes the throttle shut.
__________________


www.LMGTFY.com --> give it a try before you ask

Thanks for driving that hybrid...and saving all the gas for me!
powermoose1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 06:11 PM   #19
BLACK ICE RR
Lifetime Premium
 
BLACK ICE RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 586
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by MachRider View Post
I have stock grips. I'm not talking about the grip twisting on the bar a bit extra, I mean the actual throttle seems to have about 1/4" of turn before any throttle is really applied. I used to have this all the time on dirtbikes, but much worse.

yeah my grips DONT slide its the actual throttle thanks for telling me how to fix it and good thread idea
__________________
2005 CBR 600RR Tribal
Pinebox custom exhaust + header
PCv + pair mod
Ape CCT
Vortex Clip-ons
MOTY battery
ZG DB
Milled rear rotor
55w HIDs
Rear res delete mod
flush mounts, frame sliders

Get outta here troll!
BLACK ICE RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 02:02 AM   #20
silent89
AMA Supersport Racer
 
silent89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 594
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wes600rr View Post
I liked having no play but honda says you should have a little play in it. Take it out a little at a time and and see how you like it. But yeah.. Tighten the top cable, its easy....
im not sure if you remember this or not, but you recommended i remove the slack from my throttle when i met you up at palomar. back when you were still taking pics up there lol.

well, i can tell you from my opinion that it does drastically smooth out my throttle control because there is less wrist movement to get the throttle open. i used to always turn the throttle slowly to find the point where it cracks open. now its just as soon as i turn the throttle.

oh and it is the upper cable. just loosen the lock nut and adjust. very very straightforward.
__________________
silent89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 11:10 AM   #21
Joe's Rocket
World Superbike Racer
 
Joe's Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 1,573
Images: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yeah, make sure you have some play, its just like mountain bikes, you need some play or else it can rev up when turning handle bars from lock to lock.
__________________
2008 Red/blk Cbr 600RR

BiXenon Projectors
Twill Carbon Fiber
MotoScience Ducati Mirrors
Tripage Seq. Taillight
ASV Shorty Levers
Driven D3 Grips, Rizoma Conical Bar Ends
2Bros Exhaust
Black Painted Pegs and Frame
Blue LED Accent Lights
Red 600rr Reflective Rim Tape
Other Small mods...

Check It Out In My Build Thread, lots of new pics on pg. 7: http://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?t=125914
Joe's Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 06:53 AM   #22
Jim Moore
Moto GP Racer
 
Jim Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,625
Thanks: 5
Thanked 154 Times in 110 Posts
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe's Rocket View Post
Yeah, make sure you have some play, its just like mountain bikes, you need some play or else it can rev up when turning handle bars from lock to lock.
That's a good point. Make sure your rpm doesn't increase when your turn lock-to-lock. You can adjust to zero play and still be OK.
Jim Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 04:09 AM   #23
MachRider
World Superbike Racer
 
MachRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,235
Images: 8
Thanks: 232
Thanked 72 Times in 60 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Moore View Post
That's a good point. Make sure your rpm doesn't increase when your turn lock-to-lock. You can adjust to zero play and still be OK.
Actually, when adjusting this on my 09 600RR, the RPM never changed without any throttle, but if you did rev it up, the RPMs drop much slower, indicating slight throttle applicaton. Kinda interesting.
__________________
2007 Red Motorcycle
Front and Rear Disc Brakes
Performance Tires
Bright Headlights
Handlebar Grips
Completely Bone Stock Fuel Tank
Tuned by Valentino Rossi
MachRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 03:27 PM   #24
colmotrans
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
some play is reccamended, but not too much
colmotrans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 03:41 PM   #25
v-tec crx
Moto GP Racer
 
v-tec crx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 7,268
Thanks: 250
Thanked 273 Times in 240 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
I am gonna do this tonight
v-tec crx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 04:35 AM   #26
thatoneguy
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by MachRider View Post
I've got plenty of experience for my age too!
In my line of work, bad things happen to people that say this.
__________________
2006 CBR600RR Orange Tribal - Stock and staying that way
thatoneguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 02:47 PM   #27
Jim Moore
Moto GP Racer
 
Jim Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,625
Thanks: 5
Thanked 154 Times in 110 Posts
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by MachRider View Post
Actually, when adjusting this on my 09 600RR, the RPM never changed without any throttle, but if you did rev it up, the RPMs drop much slower, indicating slight throttle applicaton. Kinda interesting.
Same here. I loosened mine back up until it snapped back freely. Still pretty much zero play.
Jim Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:25 AM   #28
MachRider
World Superbike Racer
 
MachRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,235
Images: 8
Thanks: 232
Thanked 72 Times in 60 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatoneguy View Post
In my line of work, bad things happen to people that say this.
That a crack at me?

I didn't say I was a prodigy, I said I have a lot of experience for my age, which is a fact. I simply have had more opportunities for learning than other guys my age due to the situation I was born into. Lay off.
__________________
2007 Red Motorcycle
Front and Rear Disc Brakes
Performance Tires
Bright Headlights
Handlebar Grips
Completely Bone Stock Fuel Tank
Tuned by Valentino Rossi
MachRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 02:48 AM   #29
silent89
AMA Supersport Racer
 
silent89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 594
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
did you ever modify your throttle play?
__________________
silent89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 02:46 PM   #30
MachRider
World Superbike Racer
 
MachRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,235
Images: 8
Thanks: 232
Thanked 72 Times in 60 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by silent89 View Post
did you ever modify your throttle play?
Yes, I did. Had to be careful when you turn the bars to the left because it would apply slight throttle. Found a sweet spot and now just have a perfect throttle. Bumps don't affect my throttle smoothness or feel.
__________________
2007 Red Motorcycle
Front and Rear Disc Brakes
Performance Tires
Bright Headlights
Handlebar Grips
Completely Bone Stock Fuel Tank
Tuned by Valentino Rossi
MachRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:47 AM.



Powered by: vBulletin | vBadvanced CMPS & Gallery
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum