Brake light doesn't work : Honda CBR 600RR Sportbike Forum : 600RR.Net

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Honda 600RR Prices
Go Back   600RR.net > Technical Talk > Troubleshooting

Troubleshooting Having trouble with your bike? Common know issues or trobuleshooting questions here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2009, 07:41 PM   #1
Meadster1987
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Brake light doesn't work

For some reason, my tail light works but the brake light doesn't light up when I hit either brake. I thought it might need an entire new tail light, so I bought the OEM tail light but the brake light won't work with it either. I recently replaced all fuses under the front left fairing. Could it be a bad fuse under the seat? Some of you might remember that I recently blew some fuses a couple of weeks ago as I tried to install new rear turn signals. The brake light was not functioning before that happened either, so it's not a result of that. I actually realized right after I bought the bike that the brake light wasn't working, so it's the result of something a previous owner did. Stupid of me not to notice that as I inspected the bike before buying.

Anyway, any thoughts?
Meadster1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-11-2009, 07:45 PM   #2
SLAPS808
Moto GP Racer
 
SLAPS808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego County, SoCal
Posts: 28,553
Thanks: 178
Thanked 352 Times in 274 Posts
Feedback Score: 56 reviews
check your rear brake switch position.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by struckbylitenin View Post
I wanna learn from the master king dingaling
SLAPS808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 07:45 PM   #3
SLAPS808
Moto GP Racer
 
SLAPS808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego County, SoCal
Posts: 28,553
Thanks: 178
Thanked 352 Times in 274 Posts
Feedback Score: 56 reviews
or disconnect the rear brake foot switch and see if the front works.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by struckbylitenin View Post
I wanna learn from the master king dingaling
SLAPS808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 07:46 PM   #4
SLAPS808
Moto GP Racer
 
SLAPS808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego County, SoCal
Posts: 28,553
Thanks: 178
Thanked 352 Times in 274 Posts
Feedback Score: 56 reviews
and vice versa for the front.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by struckbylitenin View Post
I wanna learn from the master king dingaling
SLAPS808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 09:49 AM   #5
shiftn3rdon1
Not right now chief, im in the f'ing zone
 
shiftn3rdon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MILWAUKEE
Posts: 4,495
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Yeah, adjust the rear switch, by adjusting the black plastic nut behind the right rear set. It is prolly so tight that it is always engaging the brake light
__________________
Bungle in the Jungle!!!



Beep Beep m' Beep Beep YEAH!!!
shiftn3rdon1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 10:59 PM   #6
Meadster1987
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiftn3rdon1 View Post
Yeah, adjust the rear switch, by adjusting the black plastic nut behind the right rear set. It is prolly so tight that it is always engaging the brake light

Thanks for the advice, guys. I'll give it a try in a couple of days when I get back home.

I always thought that the rear light was extremely bright, so I wondered if the brake light was working ALL the time as opposed to not working at all.
__________________
Mead for Speed

Meadster1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 10:19 AM   #7
jackcbr600
Training Wheel Hero
 
jackcbr600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: quakertown, PA
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Shift is correct, I had the same problem & that dial under the right rearset was turned up to high
jackcbr600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 10:30 AM   #8
CTM_Patron
Moto GP Racer
 
CTM_Patron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: PWZ, Fo Life!!!!
Posts: 11,154
Thanks: 2
Thanked 27 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
he said it doesn't light up with either brake, geniuses! i doubt it's the rear brake switch.

unless the OP is so smart he can't tell the difference betwixt when the tail light is just on and the brake light is always engaged.
CTM_Patron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 10:31 AM   #9
makct04
Too short to drag knee.
 
makct04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 364
Thanked 214 Times in 182 Posts
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
It might be a relay, or if you don't want to fix it just convert your bike to a trackbike!...
__________________
The answers to all your questions is here in this link ----> http://www.600rr.net/vb/search.php


makct04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 10:32 AM   #10
CTM_Patron
Moto GP Racer
 
CTM_Patron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: PWZ, Fo Life!!!!
Posts: 11,154
Thanks: 2
Thanked 27 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by makct04 View Post
It might be a relay, or if you don't want to fix it just convert your bike to a trackbike!...
this is the easiest option. just get race skins and you won't have to worry about your brake light no mo!
CTM_Patron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 10:35 AM   #11
makct04
Too short to drag knee.
 
makct04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 364
Thanked 214 Times in 182 Posts
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTM_Patron View Post
this is the easiest option. just get race skins and you won't have to worry about your brake light no mo!
__________________
The answers to all your questions is here in this link ----> http://www.600rr.net/vb/search.php


makct04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 10:36 AM   #12
CTM_Patron
Moto GP Racer
 
CTM_Patron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: PWZ, Fo Life!!!!
Posts: 11,154
Thanks: 2
Thanked 27 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
it could be the muffler bearing
CTM_Patron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 05:08 PM   #13
Meadster1987
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTM_Patron View Post
he said it doesn't light up with either brake, geniuses! i doubt it's the rear brake switch.

unless the OP is so smart he can't tell the difference betwixt when the tail light is just on and the brake light is always engaged.

If the brake light has always been on and I've never seen it without, how could I tell just by looking at it?
__________________
Mead for Speed

Meadster1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 02:52 AM   #14
SLAPS808
Moto GP Racer
 
SLAPS808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego County, SoCal
Posts: 28,553
Thanks: 178
Thanked 352 Times in 274 Posts
Feedback Score: 56 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meadster1987 View Post
If the brake light has always been on and I've never seen it without, how could I tell just by looking at it?
oh boy, this kind of stuff makes me think...wth?

do you not do a basic operational function check of your lights, switches, levers, brakes etc, periodically?...
usually before taking the bike for a ride.

im not trying to insult you or your intelligence.
basic simple knowledge could be the differences and answers to your questions and gripes on your bike.

do yourself a favor and get yourself a service manual. it will teach you alot of things about your bike and answer maybe 80% of your questions.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by struckbylitenin View Post
I wanna learn from the master king dingaling
SLAPS808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 08:29 PM   #15
Meadster1987
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
[quote=SLAPS808;2604527]

do you not do a basic operational function check of your lights, switches, levers, brakes etc, periodically?...
usually before taking the bike for a ride.

quote]

Obviously I do, or otherwise I would never notice problems. I noticed it didn't work literally minutes after I bought the bike and the previous owner drove away. And as I implied, I feel like a complete idiot for not noticing it while inspecting before buying.

So yes, it's a legitimate question as to how could I possibly know whether the brake light is on or not by looking at it, seeing as how it's been like that since I bought it.

Anyway, I still haven't had a chance to tinker with it; hopefully tommorow.
__________________
Mead for Speed

Meadster1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 12:35 AM   #16
SLAPS808
Moto GP Racer
 
SLAPS808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego County, SoCal
Posts: 28,553
Thanks: 178
Thanked 352 Times in 274 Posts
Feedback Score: 56 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meadster1987 View Post

Obviously I do, or otherwise I would never notice problems. I noticed it didn't work literally minutes after I bought the bike and the previous owner drove away. And as I implied, I feel like a complete idiot for not noticing it while inspecting before buying.

So yes, it's a legitimate question as to how could I possibly know whether the brake light is on or not by looking at it, seeing as how it's been like that since I bought it.

Anyway, I still haven't had a chance to tinker with it; hopefully tommorow.
rock on mang. like i said, im not insulting you or bashing. im a nice guy.

goodluck and post up what you find.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by struckbylitenin View Post
I wanna learn from the master king dingaling
SLAPS808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 10:46 AM   #17
cbrmag_rider
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 982
Images: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
how you can tell: Stand back WAAAY back. if you can see see it prominently, the brake light (as opposed the running light) is ON. there are two switches that feed that circuit. on is at the brake lever (which rarely fails) and the other is at the rear brake pedal (this one also rarely fails but is sometimes out of adjustment).
cbrmag_rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 11:32 PM   #18
Meadster1987
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Okay, so I finally had some time to look at it.

I'm very certain that the brake light is engaged 100% of the time because at night standing 25 yards away, the thing is almost hard to look at, it's so bright. Compared it side by side to my buddy's bike (03' ZX-6r) as he held the brake and they seemed to match up.

I loosened up the black nut for the rear brake switch and nothing changed. I completely unhooked the spring from the brake lever so that there was no pressure on the cable and the light still didn't change.

So... what's the next step? I definitely need to get myself an owner's manual
__________________
Mead for Speed

Meadster1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 11:40 PM   #19
cbrmag_rider
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 982
Images: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Your next step is to check the front brake lever switch, then for shorts.
cbrmag_rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 02:03 AM   #20
Meadster1987
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It turns out that the brake light was always on. I unplugged the sensor on the front lever and the taillight dimmed down. Now the brake light lights up when the rear brake is used, but if I reconnect the front brake switch, the brake light stays on permanently. Therefore, it remains disconnected and the front brake doesn't signal the brake light. I generally use both the front brake and rear brake together when I stop, so the brake light will light up as long as I'm riding it.

Any thoughts on what part needs to be replaced?
__________________
Mead for Speed

Meadster1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 02:21 AM   #21
cbrmag_rider
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 982
Images: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
THAT PART, DER...

hell ya might even be lucky. i'll see if it's still on my race bike.

35340-MM5-600 otherwise

Last edited by cbrmag_rider; 11-24-2009 at 02:24 AM.
cbrmag_rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 02:35 AM   #22
cbrmag_rider
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 982
Images: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
nope, don't have it, sorry.
cbrmag_rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 10:11 AM   #23
powermoose1
World Superbike Racer
 
powermoose1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,023
Images: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
Could be the brake light switch on the lever. It depresses and completes the circuit. Take it off and see. Are these aftermarket or stock levers? The rear is controled by a sprin attached to the brake pedal. Take a look at that as well.
__________________


www.LMGTFY.com --> give it a try before you ask

Thanks for driving that hybrid...and saving all the gas for me!
powermoose1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 11:11 AM   #24
Meadster1987
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The levers are stock and the rear switch has been looked at. I know the problem is in the front and from what I can see, it's either one of two parts (maybe both, actually) that need to be replaced. I don't know the names of these parts or what to call them, so I'll try to describe them. Think about an electrical outlet found in your home and a plug that goes into it. That's exactly what there is on the bike. There's two thin metal plugs that plug into a black outlet underneath the lever. So what needs to be replaced, the plug(s) or the outlet?
__________________
Mead for Speed

Meadster1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 01:14 PM   #25
cbrmag_rider
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 982
Images: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the plug is the switch. replace the switch.
cbrmag_rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 01:26 AM   #26
Meadster1987
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Awesome, thanks. I'll give it a shot and let you know what happens.

Do these switches usually go bad over time like a stator does, or does the bike need to suffer some damage (dropped or wrecked) in order to render the switch useless?
__________________
Mead for Speed

Meadster1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 01:31 AM   #27
cbrmag_rider
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 982
Images: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
either or.

neither one really GOES BAD over time.
cbrmag_rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 01:52 AM   #28
steeldragon66
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Try www.bikebandit.com Not saying to buy there, BUT, if you go to the OEM section, they have great schematics and part breakdowns. You can easily find the name, and part number you need and then shop around for it or even try ebay... Good luck!
steeldragon66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 02:27 AM   #29
cbrmag_rider
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 982
Images: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
jesus, i just posted it... arg
cbrmag_rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 03:31 PM   #30
CBRstig84
Training Wheel Hero
 
CBRstig84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
thanks for the thread

Was having the same issue, but mine was with a ca light. The advice here, and my manual, cleared it right up. Oh and i feel your pain I didn't know if mine was lighting up either.
__________________
Maybe if i poke it a little...
CBRstig84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:02 AM.



Powered by: vBulletin | vBadvanced CMPS & Gallery
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum