Engine start w/out key? : Honda CBR 600RR Sportbike Forum : 600RR.Net

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Honda 600RR Prices
Go Back   600RR.net > Technical Talk > 03-06 RR Modifications

03-06 RR Modifications 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2006 Modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2005, 12:25 AM   #1
CubbyFresh
AMA Supersport Racer
 
CubbyFresh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: bay area, ca San Pablo
Posts: 1,576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Engine start w/out key?

How can I make my bike start without using the key? Push start button, is there a kit?
__________________
http://tinypic.com/fyinux.gif
CubbyFresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-24-2005, 02:01 AM   #2
sumoboy
Training Wheel Hero
 
sumoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Assuming you dont have HISS,

At the bottom of ignition barrel you should have 3 wires twist them all together and voila! no key required.
sumoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 02:03 AM   #3
r6beater
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: twin cities ,WI
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
will not answer , as this would be handing over an easy theft . if you are racing , you wouldn't be posting here for such a subject . no use for that on a street bike .
__________________
c'mon liter bike boy , catch me if you can..
r6beater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 02:29 AM   #4
blackstripes
Pocketbike Racer
 
blackstripes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Leawood, KS
Posts: 405
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by r6beater
will not answer , as this would be handing over an easy theft . if you are racing , you wouldn't be posting here for such a subject . no use for that on a street bike .
I somehow don't think nando1 is a bike thief....
__________________
'03 Black RR
blackstripes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 02:35 AM   #5
CubbyFresh
AMA Supersport Racer
 
CubbyFresh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: bay area, ca San Pablo
Posts: 1,576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by r6beater
will not answer , as this would be handing over an easy theft . if you are racing , you wouldn't be posting here for such a subject . no use for that on a street bike .
Look bro, just to make it clear, I'm no thief. I was just wondering cus my bike is going to be a track bike and the truth is there is no need for a key if you're tracking your bike and thats all you use it for. I know its not a big deal to use the key but I wanted to get rid of that, its kinda cool just to push a button and voila! it starts.

If members like they can pm me if they think the info will go to the wrong person posting it here .
__________________
http://tinypic.com/fyinux.gif
CubbyFresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 04:48 AM   #6
TiN
Knee Dragger
 
TiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Bear in mind that if you just wire up the bike, then it will be permanently "on", which will drain your battery quicker...maybe put some intermediate switch in the wiring somewhere...but then you may as well have a key :P
__________________
TiN
exploreUK.net
TiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 05:07 AM   #7
Black_knight_600rr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
how about one of them keyless starters like for your car, you push the button from inside and your bike starts then after warm you climb on put the key in and turn it over or somthing like remote start , any such thing as that ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 06:00 AM   #8
Mouse
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: London
Posts: 1,426
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If its that much of a hasstle, just locktite the key in the ignition.
Mouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 07:48 AM   #9
CCSEX122
AMA Supersport Racer
 
CCSEX122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Jacksonville FL
Posts: 799
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
All CBRs have a form of HISS, they just don't advertise it. You can't just hotwire this thing, you need a diode wired in backwards to complete the circuit... I'm not giving out the ratings in a public forum because like r6beater said, it makes stealing one too easy. If you're handy with a multimeter you can figure it out once you disassemble the cylinder. I'd recommend against it if you're anything less than proficient with circuitry, all you need is a breakdown in the circuit to get loss of power... which by Murphy's law WILL happen when you're at max lean and send you to the pavement.
__________________
Larry Dodson
CCS # 22 --Double Duece, back in action!!--

Ride found. Now about the financing...

CCSEX122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 12:54 PM   #10
overdraft
Pocketbike Racer
 
overdraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
my buddy's going through this with his track bike now... key starts and does the gas cap... you can't just glue the key in or you can't open your tank. plus if you get to the track and you don't have the key you're screwed! the info was out there for his gix but everyone is correctly cautious about exchanging the info, using pm's and email, however it does not follow that because someone's trying to remove the key from the starting system that they're necessarily thieving... my track bike has no key... or starter...
overdraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 01:42 PM   #11
BlueBlur
Resident Leg-Humper Females Beware
 
BlueBlur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,866
Images: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 18 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by overdraft
my buddy's going through this with his track bike now... key starts and does the gas cap... you can't just glue the key in or you can't open your tank. plus if you get to the track and you don't have the key you're screwed! the info was out there for his gix but everyone is correctly cautious about exchanging the info, using pm's and email, however it does not follow that because someone's trying to remove the key from the starting system that they're necessarily thieving... my track bike has no key... or starter...
just buy a twist off gas cap for ya track bike
__________________



HOOORRRAAAYYYY FOR BOOOOOTTIEES!!!

BALALALALALA OMG TERRORIST!!
BlueBlur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 02:27 PM   #12
Steve-o
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Steve-o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Folsom, Ca
Posts: 1,375
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
if someone is going to steal a bike they will get no matter what. usually they just bring a truck, pick up the bike throw into the bed of the truck drive off. 2 guys can pick up a bike with no prob. I think it would be easier for them to just use a screw driver to punch the ignition
__________________
The scars remind me that the past is real.
myspace.com/steveo600rr
Steve-o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2005, 10:59 PM   #13
r6beater
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: twin cities ,WI
Posts: 513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
nando1, i was in no way calling you a thief , or other posters , but anyone can view this without logging in . unfortunatly even at the track theft and vandalism occur . it is my thinking that information that can help some wanna-be thief jack somebodys ride ( or get it running after he and a buddy lifted it into a truck ) should not be posted in an open forum .
__________________
c'mon liter bike boy , catch me if you can..
r6beater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 09:35 PM   #14
0700
Pocketbike Racer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OKOKOKokokok

As you all know I sell these billet triple clamps for the 03-04 with a removeable ignition ring. Now I want to take it off, but would soem knid sole please PM me with the correct diode to buy, so I don´t need to hack up the stock ignition....
0700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 04:11 PM   #15
predikt
World Superbike Racer
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm getting sick of using my key at the track and always having to carry it around. I need to figure out a way to hook up some type of on/off/kill switch to do this. If anyone knows how to do this or knows a company that offers that service, please PM me. Thanks.
predikt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 04:47 PM   #16
tripage
LED Surgeon General

 
tripage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: orlando
Posts: 13,447
Thanks: 381
Thanked 489 Times in 390 Posts
Feedback Score: 88 reviews
Pm sent!!!!!!
tripage is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 04:48 PM   #17
predikt
World Superbike Racer
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sweet, thanks tripage
predikt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 05:20 PM   #18
gqnugget
Training Wheel Hero
 
gqnugget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: N. VA
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What I have done is taken a CRF/XR70 kill switch and wired it up, along with the appropriate resistor, and made a left thumb kill switch, keyless started.
gqnugget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 05:26 PM   #19
predikt
World Superbike Racer
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by gqnugget
What I have done is taken a CRF/XR70 kill switch and wired it up, along with the appropriate resistor, and made a left thumb kill switch, keyless started.
sweet gqnugget. do you have any pics of the work?
predikt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 08:00 PM   #20
trkdydumper
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
haha... nado's a thief give me back my carbon fiber wheels biotch... see you saturday!
trkdydumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 08:02 PM   #21
trkdydumper
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ask me on saturday at the trackday and i'll show you how to do it. easy!!! there's a way to bypass the keyed ignition so that when you click on your run switch it turns on the ignition as well then all you have to do is push the start button. it uses all the stock harnesses you just have to jump one wire and relocate a couple of pins. VIOLA!
trkdydumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 01:10 AM   #22
the600ex
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
As CCSEX122 states, the RR's cannot be hotwired. There is a resistor built into the ignition switch that knocks down the voltage from the battery, telling the computer that the ignition switch is on, not that all 3 wires are touching. I experienced this hassle of trying to run the 600RR motor without an ignition switch when I put it in a quad chassis. The factory ignition switch is a MUST!
the600ex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 02:53 AM   #23
predikt
World Superbike Racer
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
gqnugget, what resistor do you need? What does a diode do by the way?
predikt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 09:52 AM   #24
gqnugget
Training Wheel Hero
 
gqnugget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: N. VA
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have no ignition swith at all on my bike.
gqnugget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 10:22 AM   #25
tripage
LED Surgeon General

 
tripage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: orlando
Posts: 13,447
Thanks: 381
Thanked 489 Times in 390 Posts
Feedback Score: 88 reviews
NO KEY....
tripage is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 11:50 AM   #26
dbals
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Missouri
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sorry guys, but Ive been a car audio installer for 15+ years with lots of experience with ignitions and bike ignitions are fairly simple. To do it correctly you would still need some switch to turn off ignition circuits (fan, computer,...) You could use the run switch and a relay. Then you would just have to have it on and press start. If you really wanted to be cool you could but a small magnetic switch(only you knowing where its at) for turning your ignition on and then press the start button. That way not just anyone could start your bike. If your turning it into track bike and arent comfortable messing with it, car audio shop that doest remote starts should be able to hook you up. But then you still have that whole gas cap issue. I would have to agree with some of the other guys, I dont think that most of the bikes that get stolen are hot wired, I would think most are picked up and wired later, not a big deal to replace an ignition swith at a different time. If someone really wants to steal it, it will be stolen. Cars with far more advanced anti theft systems get stolen all the time. Just my 2 cents

Last edited by dbals; 06-09-2005 at 11:56 AM.
dbals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 02:27 PM   #27
predikt
World Superbike Racer
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
looks clean tripage. are you sure you just didn't take out your ignition just for a cool pic? j/k :)

dbals,
For the remote starter, do the installers still get into the ignition and rewire? Gas cap is not that big of a deal, can get the twist off from Vortex or another company.
predikt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 03:22 PM   #28
dbals
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Missouri
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by predikt
looks clean tripage. are you sure you just didn't take out your ignition just for a cool pic? j/k :)

dbals,
For the remote starter, do the installers still get into the ignition and rewire? Gas cap is not that big of a deal, can get the twist off from Vortex or another company.
You dont have to rewire anything but you are splicing into the same wires(hot, ignition, acc, start) to remote start the car. Then the car looks for any type of sec. Like the resistor that is talked about in the above post. They were putting sec systems like this from the factory on cars 15-20 yrs ago. I havent got into the ignition system on our bikes yet but I would assume its just a hot 12V, ignition 12V, and start. Like I said you would just have to have a switch to energize ignition and then use start button.
dbals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 03:24 PM   #29
dbals
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Missouri
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tripage, how did you do yours?
dbals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 04:05 PM   #30
predikt
World Superbike Racer
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbals
You dont have to rewire anything but you are splicing into the same wires(hot, ignition, acc, start) to remote start the car. Then the car looks for any type of sec. Like the resistor that is talked about in the above post. They were putting sec systems like this from the factory on cars 15-20 yrs ago. I havent got into the ignition system on our bikes yet but I would assume its just a hot 12V, ignition 12V, and start. Like I said you would just have to have a switch to energize ignition and then use start button.
Sounds simple enough. I wish I knew a little about wiring before I start into this. Anyone in Southern California have knowledge that can help out? PM me if you can. Thanks.
predikt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ENGINE WONT START dsf600rr Troubleshooting 14 04-24-2008 06:19 PM
Weird Problem+(Bike wont start) furrball409 Troubleshooting 10 06-03-2006 11:03 PM
just bought 05 600rr, wont start battery issue? sean2sean Troubleshooting 6 05-15-2006 12:23 PM
Engine Ice Reveiw Visitor Q Maintenance 15 05-21-2005 02:41 AM
Remote start alarm Hotscott7 03-06 RR Modifications 10 03-23-2004 01:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:32 AM.



Powered by: vBulletin | vBadvanced CMPS & Gallery
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Forum Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum Kawasaki Ninja 250SL Forum