accelerating/riding newb questions : Honda CBR 600RR Sportbike Forum : 600RR.Net

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Honda 600RR Prices
Go Back   600RR.net > Track Talk > Riding tips

Riding tips A good place to gain &, share knowledge , information and tips about safe enjoyable riding .

Old 11-04-2012, 12:28 PM   #1
sameh90
AMA Supersport Racer

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Unhappy accelerating/riding newb questions

so i am new to manual, clutch even in cars for that matter... anywhore i am picking up quite quickly but still feel the bike clunky and unnatural when doing speeds below 30 especially during re-acceleration at junctions/roundabouts/speedbumps.. so my questions are:

1. below what rpm should your clutch never be fully engaged?
2. should you downshift into first if you get to say 5 mph at a speed bump or only do so at full stops?
3. is downshifting into first always that clunky?..(clutch fully disengaged..doesn't slow down though. still very clunky)
4. WHAT THE F*** low speed maneuvers up an incline??

questions are intended for slow speed, quiet, early shifting, not-too-much-leaning kinda riding (the kind you'ld do infront of cops or around your 'loving and supporting' neighbors)

Last edited by sameh90; 11-04-2012 at 12:30 PM. Reason: i wanted to edit
sameh90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-04-2012, 02:46 PM   #2
wckedIntentions
BOTM winner 11/12

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
These are just my opinions (not to say right or wrong, just what I personally do/have done)

Try to be gentle on the clutch/throttle. Smooth roll on/off with the throttle, and smooth/gentle with the clutch lever.

1. Im not sure what you mean by this question, you can engage or disengage the clutch at any rpm and should be ok, but personally i am never on the clutch for more than a second or 2, i only use it to shift up or down, i don't pull it in and coast around on it.