Need a solution for BREMBO RCS clearance... : Honda CBR 600RR Sportbike Forum : 600RR.Net

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Honda 600RR Prices
Go Back   600RR.net > Technical Talk > 03-06 RR Modifications

03-06 RR Modifications 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2006 Modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 01:04 PM   #1
Mina
World Superbike Racer
 
Mina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 172
Thanked 285 Times in 236 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Exclamation Need a solution for BREMBO RCS clearance...

I just installed a Brembo RCS on the stock clip-ons.
As I'm sure, most of you already know about the adjuster hitting the dash when the bars are turned all the way to the left.

If I were to get a set of Woodcraft 48mm clip-on with no rise, will this fix the issue?
__________________
Take it to the track!
Mina is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-14-2012, 07:41 PM   #2
Mina
World Superbike Racer
 
Mina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 172
Thanked 285 Times in 236 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Anybody?
I'd rather not butcher my dash with a dremel...
__________________
Take it to the track!
Mina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 07:44 PM   #3
sincalirider
*BOTM Feb '11, Mar '12*
 
sincalirider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Visalia, Ca
Posts: 23,603
Thanks: 1,003
Thanked 1,180 Times in 895 Posts
Feedback Score: 27 reviews
From what I remember, some people were going with an RC51 or an 07+ 600RR ignition starter to give them more room on the bar.
__________________
sincalirider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:04 PM   #4
FlipDiver79
Moto GP Racer
 
FlipDiver79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Diego & "Perlas ng Silanganan"
Posts: 9,931
Images: 3
Thanks: 701
Thanked 427 Times in 320 Posts
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
some guys that run the rcs with the stock setup just dont go lock to lock, that just means that 3 point turn becomes like 5 or 6. Thats what i did before my bike had track glass.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightslugger View Post
Flip Diver's gotta be a bot!
Quote:
Originally Posted by phatstud View Post
flip posts bewbies everywhere!
Quote:
Originally Posted by djacksoncbr600 View Post
No flipdiver posts newbies everywhere.
FlipDiver79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:11 PM   #5
Mina
World Superbike Racer
 
Mina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 172
Thanked 285 Times in 236 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
^ Bike is strictly for track, so I'm not concerned about rubbing on the fairings...
I don't want to break the adjuster if I turn the bars too hard.
__________________
Take it to the track!
Mina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:14 PM   #6
FlipDiver79
Moto GP Racer
 
FlipDiver79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Diego & "Perlas ng Silanganan"
Posts: 9,931
Images: 3
Thanks: 701
Thanked 427 Times in 320 Posts
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
well in that case you wont go full lock anyway so either change to aftermarket clipons or dont worry about it ImO...
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightslugger View Post
Flip Diver's gotta be a bot!
Quote:
Originally Posted by phatstud View Post
flip posts bewbies everywhere!
Quote:
Originally Posted by djacksoncbr600 View Post
No flipdiver posts newbies everywhere.
FlipDiver79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:40 PM   #7
mountainRRing
Pocketbike Racer
 
mountainRRing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: canmore, alberta
Posts: 285
Thanks: 20
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My rcs is on stock bars and I can turn to full lock both ways without rubbing..


Sent from my iPhone using MO Free
mountainRRing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:41 PM   #8
Azn-Sensation
World Superbike Racer
 
Azn-Sensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,592
Thanks: 129
Thanked 118 Times in 104 Posts
Feedback Score: 34 reviews
Yeah true on not needing to go lock to lock on a track bike, however what I did was add well weights to the limiters so I wouldn't damage anything while going lock to lock.
Azn-Sensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:24 AM   #9
Mina
World Superbike Racer
 
Mina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 172
Thanked 285 Times in 236 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mountainRRing View Post
My rcs is on stock bars and I can turn to full lock both ways without rubbing..


Sent from my iPhone using MO Free
Mind posting a picture?
__________________
Take it to the track!
Mina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:25 AM   #10
Mina
World Superbike Racer
 
Mina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 172
Thanked 285 Times in 236 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azn-Sensation View Post
Yeah true on not needing to go lock to lock on a track bike, however what I did was add well weights to the limiters so I wouldn't damage anything while going lock to lock.
Can you expand on that a little? I can't really picture your set up.
__________________
Take it to the track!
Mina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 09:08 AM   #11
mountainRRing
Pocketbike Racer
 
mountainRRing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: canmore, alberta
Posts: 285
Thanks: 20
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mina View Post
Mind posting a picture?
I'll try and get a pic after work. All I did was buy a ladybird bracket to hold the brake fluid resivour out of the way. The rcs never hit my fairings just the resivour


Sent from my iPhone using MO Free
mountainRRing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 09:45 AM   #12
Mina
World Superbike Racer
 
Mina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 172
Thanked 285 Times in 236 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mountainRRing View Post
I'll try and get a pic after work. All I did was buy a ladybird bracket to hold the brake fluid resivour out of the way. The rcs never hit my fairings just the resivour


Sent from my iPhone using MO Free
I bought a ladybird bracket, already.
Here are a couple of pictures to show you what I mean.



__________________
Take it to the track!
Mina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:33 PM   #13
mountainRRing
Pocketbike Racer
 
mountainRRing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: canmore, alberta
Posts: 285
Thanks: 20
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ah just realized you have an 06 . Mine is 07 that's why I have room..




Sent from my iPhone using MO Free

Last edited by mountainRRing; 11-15-2012 at 08:35 PM.
mountainRRing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:56 PM   #14
Mina
World Superbike Racer
 
Mina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 172
Thanked 285 Times in 236 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mountainRRing View Post
Ah just realized you have an 06 . Mine is 07 that's why I have room..
lol... you got my hopes up man!!!
__________________
Take it to the track!
Mina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:52 PM   #15
Azn-Sensation
World Superbike Racer
 
Azn-Sensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,592
Thanks: 129
Thanked 118 Times in 104 Posts
Feedback Score: 34 reviews
I currently dont have access to my bikes at the moment. But I stuck wheel weights on the frame where the forks meet at full lock to limit its travel.
Azn-Sensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 12:04 AM   #16
sincalirider
*BOTM Feb '11, Mar '12*
 
sincalirider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Visalia, Ca
Posts: 23,603
Thanks: 1,003
Thanked 1,180 Times in 895 Posts
Feedback Score: 27 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by sincalirider View Post
From what I remember, some people were going with an RC51 or an 07+ 600RR ignition starter to give them more room on the bar.
So...... I'm guessing you didn't want to go this route?




From Zack600's build thread

http://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?t=153502

Edit: Just noticed he was running a/f clip-ons too. lol I know somebody else did the ignition switch for sure though to remedy the clearance.
__________________

Last edited by sincalirider; 11-16-2012 at 12:06 AM.
sincalirider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 08:24 AM   #17
Mina
World Superbike Racer
 
Mina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 172
Thanked 285 Times in 236 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
^ so would aftermarket clipons be the way to go?
__________________
Take it to the track!

Last edited by Mina; 11-16-2012 at 09:23 AM.
Mina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:07 AM   #18
mountainRRing
Pocketbike Racer
 
mountainRRing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: canmore, alberta
Posts: 285
Thanks: 20
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just buy an 07 switch like was said


Sent from my iPhone using MO Free
mountainRRing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:25 AM   #19
Mina
World Superbike Racer
 
Mina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 172
Thanked 285 Times in 236 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
What about the throttle housing and the cables?
Is it a direct bolt on or do I need to purchase the throttle housing separately?
__________________
Take it to the track!
Mina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:54 AM   #20
DynastySS
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have an 07 and the rcs19, what I did was move the starter and ignition to the inside of the handle bar. Worked for me.
DynastySS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:50 AM   #21
OveRReV
Moto GP Racer
 
OveRReV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Islas de Filipinas
Posts: 6,159
Images: 16
Thanks: 337
Thanked 200 Times in 175 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by DynastySS View Post
I have an 07 and the rcs19, what I did was move the starter and ignition to the inside of the handle bar. Worked for me.
that would work but i want the switch to be within reach of my thumb if something unexpected happens like the throttle getting stuck or worse.

even with clip-on bars the damn knob still hits, it's impossible to put a remote adjuster on the RCS with our setup.
__________________

2004 CBR 600RR JDM
HRC radiator
WP 4618 rear shock
WP 1508 steering damper
Ohlins 0.90 N/mm fork springs
Overrev tuned fork cartridges
Akrapovic Evo Carbon FS
Dynojet PCIIIUSB
AFAM 15/47 sprockets
DID VX2 520 gold chain
Brembo 19RCS MC
HEL brakelines
SBS HS pads
Euro Racing riser plates & lever
HM RL Annitori quickshifter
EVR CTS slipper clutch
OveRReV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 03:54 PM   #22
rick_b
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just add a bolt to your stopper so the bike wont have as much lock to lock.

Rick
rick_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:49 PM   #23
White RepsoL
AMA Supersport Racer
 
White RepsoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 666
Thanks: 52
Thanked 47 Times in 43 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have brembo MC with woodcraft 1.5" rise with slight issue at full lock to the left, but had the no rise before with no issues. Riding position is the reason I went to risers. I bet 1" risers would be tits...

Another option is get tape weight's like used to balance wheels and use them as stoppers.
White RepsoL is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to White RepsoL For This Useful Post:
Mina (12-12-2012), OveRReV (11-27-2012)
Old 11-27-2012, 06:55 PM   #24
White RepsoL
AMA Supersport Racer
 
White RepsoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 666
Thanks: 52
Thanked 47 Times in 43 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here's some pics...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1354060545334.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	20.8 KB
ID:	31014   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1354060556976.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	22.3 KB
ID:	31015   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1354060571792.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	18.6 KB
ID:	31016  
White RepsoL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:01 AM   #25
Mina
World Superbike Racer
 
Mina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 172
Thanked 285 Times in 236 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by White RepsoL View Post
I have brembo MC with woodcraft 1.5" rise with slight issue at full lock to the left, but had the no rise before with no issues. Riding position is the reason I went to risers. I bet 1" risers would be tits...

Another option is get tape weight's like used to balance wheels and use them as stoppers.
Thanks!

I ordered a standard set of Woodcraft 48mm clip ons and the Brembo RCS adjuster no longer hits the dash. BUT, the stock clip ons have a 1" rise so the standard Woodcraft's allowed very little clearance with the ram air covers.

I will exchange them for 1" rise clip ons and see if that will make the difference. I'll report back with my findings.

Hope this thread helps out anyone whose looking for a solution!
__________________
Take it to the track!

Last edited by Mina; 12-12-2012 at 10:29 AM.
Mina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:20 PM   #26
CNI Dawg
World Superbike Racer
 
CNI Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,707
Thanks: 3
Thanked 25 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
We had the same problem when we bought our backup endurance bike
Bought an 19x18 so both the A & B bikes have same parts
Since levers are different we have to stock fewer parts for crash repair running same MC on both bikes

PLUS the friggin RCS doesn't bump the speedo !
You can set the RCS up with clip-ons to not hit but if you crash & bend the upper fairing stay you could be in trouble with the RCS hitting again

My advice - sell it & buy a 19x18 !
spend the money saved on clip-ons

:-)

Oh - it's also easier to run the TMV (brembo style) remote lever adjuster on the 19x18 on our vintage 600RR's
No room for it with the RCS
__________________
Celebrating the 'Mile a Minute' year - 60
Living the dream !!
#77 Dallas Honda - CMRA MCE
Sponsors- Dallas Honda, LP Racing, EBC, Silkolene


"The road to Hell is really grippy with loads of run off & some wicked lefthanders"

Last edited by CNI Dawg; 12-12-2012 at 10:28 PM.
CNI Dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 AM.



Powered by: vBulletin | vBadvanced CMPS & Gallery
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum