Turn signals not working after storm : Honda CBR 600RR Sportbike Forum : 600RR.Net

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Honda 600RR Prices
Go Back   600RR.net > Technical Talk > Troubleshooting

Troubleshooting Having trouble with your bike? Common know issues or trobuleshooting questions here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2012, 11:22 PM   #1
nick2049
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Turn signals not working after storm

Hi all,
My turn signals were working fine until this morning (there was a big storm last night and my bike was outside). I'm guessing water got in somewhere, but I'm not sure where to check. The running lights work fine. When I signal left, the left forward signal goes dark, and the rear signal doesn't come on. When I signal right, the right forward signal goes dark and the rear signal doesn't come on. When signaling, the turn signal lights on the dash come on for just a second before going dark. I have flush mounted signals (proton if I remember right) and an integrated tail light (can't remember the brand). The bike is a 2009. I looked around on the message board and it seems like I need a new flasher relay maybe? Can somebody confirm whether this is what I need?
http://www.customled.com/products/fl...sher_relay.htm
Hoping it's just that and not something more serious. Thanks!
nick2049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-04-2012, 12:03 AM   #2
SilentSun
AMA Supersport Racer
 
SilentSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,116
Thanks: 164
Thanked 159 Times in 144 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Check your fuses first, but it sounds like you need a relay.

Check out Acumen: http://www.acumen-electronics.co.uk/...ay_4_LED_66005

Or Tripage: http://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?t=186235

Looks like the one you posted also fits.
__________________
----------------
600rr 11
SilentSun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:17 AM   #3
Nuttynu
BOTM Winner 1/13
 
Nuttynu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ANCHORAGE, AK
Posts: 5,832
Images: 1
Thanks: 1,857
Thanked 378 Times in 326 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
yes i have the relay from custom led. mine i had to splice it tho, quite easy, there is a write up on that. it shall work afterward
__________________



My Ride Report :

-Alaska,The Last Frontier

-
Quote:
Originally Posted by crash a-ron View Post

"To travel by motorcycle there are 3 things- youth, time, and money. You only get 2. Pick wisely."
Nuttynu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 02:43 PM   #4
nick2049
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Got a PM about the solution so I figured I'd post here for all to see. I checked the fuses (they were fine) and installed a new relay (didn't help). I ended up having the shop look at it while they were doing some other stuff on the bike.
They took apart the housing over the signal switch and said that it was all types of gunked up. They cleaned it out and everything started working again.
nick2049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 05:22 PM   #5
Njzhitman88
Knee Dragger
 
Njzhitman88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jersey
Posts: 221
Thanks: 42
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
just a suggestion, if you arent already doing so..use a cover man
__________________
/V I |2 4 |_
2011 Cbr 600rr
TST Industries I.T., Fender Elim., Halo-1 Flushmounts- Yoshimura RS5 Carbon Fiber Slipon- Zero Gravity Windscreen- Tripage LED Pegs, Brake Flasher Relay- Woodcraft Frame Sliders- Driven D3 Grips, Heavy Weight Bar Ends
More To Come...
Experience is not what happens to you; it's what you do with what happens to you.
Njzhitman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 08:40 PM   #6
BrandonlBaxter
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pampa Tx
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I finally gave up on mine
BrandonlBaxter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 01:36 PM   #7
jackson 600
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had a similar problem. It ended up being a bad flasher relay. See post: http://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?t=371681
jackson 600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 PM.



Powered by: vBulletin | vBadvanced CMPS & Gallery
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum