Ignition bypass? : Honda CBR 600RR Sportbike Forum : 600RR.Net

» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Honda 600RR Prices
Go Back   600RR.net > Technical Talk > 03-06 RR Modifications

03-06 RR Modifications 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2006 Modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2006, 10:39 PM   #1
Muddturtle3
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 81
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ignition bypass?

Anyone of you have an RR as a trackbike only and hooked it up with a keyless start up setup? I've been thinking about possibly doing this but not too sure how to go about doing it. Any thoughts?
Muddturtle3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-12-2006, 10:57 PM   #2
REV679
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 114
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
try the search function
REV679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 11:32 PM   #3
AlpineJim
Moto GP Racer
 
AlpineJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,910
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Pm me your email....
__________________
Matthew
03' 600rr - Track
AlpineJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 03:40 AM   #4
shiftn3rdon1
Not right now chief, im in the f'ing zone
 
shiftn3rdon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MILWAUKEE
Posts: 4,495
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
I hope you dont plan on stealing bikes.
__________________
Bungle in the Jungle!!!



Beep Beep m' Beep Beep YEAH!!!
shiftn3rdon1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 04:26 PM   #5
Tim Radley
Pocketbike Racer
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Gloucester, UK
Posts: 324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You need to find the 2 power wires from the kill switch and join them together.
The take the 2 thick red (or is it red/black) wires from the ignition switch and wire them across to where the previous 2 wires went on the kill switch.
Then lastly, take the pink wire from the ignition switch block and put a 2k-ohm resistor between this and the non-permanent side of the red wires mentioned in the last sentence.

By the way, this only works on a USA ecu and loom and not the UK ones. Don't know about other countries
__________________
Race Developments, UK. Race engines and dynojet centre.
Tim Radley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 08:54 PM   #6
slab42
World Superbike Racer
 
slab42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Gloucester, MA
Posts: 1,510
Images: 13
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you don't wanna bypass the engine kill switch, I believe it is required for some races. Just put a switch on the two large wires that go into the key cylinder, flip the switch, and press the start button... done.
slab42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 08:56 PM   #7
AlpineJim
Moto GP Racer
 
AlpineJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,910
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by slab42
you don't wanna bypass the engine kill switch, I believe it is required for some races. Just put a switch on the two large wires that go into the key cylinder, flip the switch, and press the start button... done.
That will only work on 05-06...

Your not bypassing the kill switch just the ignition.
__________________
Matthew
03' 600rr - Track
AlpineJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 09:01 PM   #8
REV679
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 114
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
alpine jim knows whats up.... he helped me out with mine...i had it all right but i used the wrong type of wire
REV679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 10:30 PM   #9
mikespike2
AMA Supersport Racer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,287
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok, so I am ready to go steal an RR!! Just kidding.. I already have one.
mikespike2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 10:39 PM   #10
AlpineJim
Moto GP Racer
 
AlpineJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,910
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikespike2
Ok, so I am ready to go steal an RR!!
My bike is insured by Winchester... :icon_lol: Goodluck..
__________________
Matthew
03' 600rr - Track
AlpineJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 11:30 PM   #11
slab42
World Superbike Racer
 
slab42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Gloucester, MA
Posts: 1,510
Images: 13
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlpineJim
That will only work on 05-06...

Your not bypassing the kill switch just the ignition.
I know, the original post was asking about a keyless start up... then someone said to bypass the ignition, AND the kill switch. I was simply stating that to make it keyless, all you have to do is put a switch on the two wires that run from the ignition switch. would this not make it "keyless"? why wouldn't that work on the 03-04, to make it keyless?
slab42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 11:51 PM   #12
AlpineJim
Moto GP Racer
 
AlpineJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,910
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
PM sent slab42...
__________________
Matthew
03' 600rr - Track
AlpineJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 12:19 AM   #13
slab42
World Superbike Racer
 
slab42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Gloucester, MA
Posts: 1,510
Images: 13
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanks for the clarification on the diff between the 03-04 and the 05-06 key cylinder!
slab42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 04:11 AM   #14
Tim Radley
Pocketbike Racer
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Gloucester, UK
Posts: 324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you read my post again guys, i am not making it bypass or remove the kill switch at all!!!
The kill switch becomes the engines power on-off switch. This means you can throw away the key and ignition barrel. What you end up with is a start system identical to the HRC kit for no cost at all. With what i say above, if you switch the kill switch off, the bike has zero power anywhere.
__________________
Race Developments, UK. Race engines and dynojet centre.
Tim Radley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 08:46 AM   #15
Muddturtle3
Training Wheel Hero
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 81
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiftn3rdon1
I hope you dont plan on stealing bikes.
Well a guy i know did by a brand new 06, you'd think he'd notice if i switched my 03 for his 06? I've just had it up to here with trying to get keys made for my bike (i'm gonna go out and make 5 keys for every vehicle i have, even the scooter).
Muddturtle3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 01:50 PM   #16
slab42
World Superbike Racer
 
slab42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Gloucester, MA
Posts: 1,510
Images: 13
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ahhh, i see what you are saying, you want the engine kill switch to also turn the ignition on/off. to do that, you could use a standard relay (rated for 30a or more) and connect terminals 30 and 87 to the two wires on the key cylinder, then determine if the kill switch throws ground or positive, and connect that to 86, and connect the opposite to 85. (i.e. if the kill switch throws ground when on, put 85 to a positive lead, and if the kill switch throws positive when on, put 85 to ground) this will keep the kill switch and ignition circuits isolated, but allow you to control the ignition with the kill switch.
HTH


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Radley
If you read my post again guys, i am not making it bypass or remove the kill switch at all!!!
The kill switch becomes the engines power on-off switch. This means you can throw away the key and ignition barrel. What you end up with is a start system identical to the HRC kit for no cost at all. With what i say above, if you switch the kill switch off, the bike has zero power anywhere.
slab42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 02:24 AM   #17
klif01
Pocketbike Racer
 
klif01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ogden, Ut
Posts: 316
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Radley View Post
You need to find the 2 power wires from the kill switch and join them together.
The take the 2 thick red (or is it red/black) wires from the ignition switch and wire them across to where the previous 2 wires went on the kill switch.
Then lastly, take the pink wire from the ignition switch block and put a 2k-ohm resistor between this and the non-permanent side of the red wires mentioned in the last sentence.

By the way, this only works on a USA ecu and loom and not the UK ones. Don't know about other countries

I was getting frustrated. My multimeter reads up to 2k ohms, so I was wondering why it lost continuity every time the ignition was on. I was getting so mad!
__________________
Just a broke college student...but I like to ride!
klif01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 04:28 PM   #18
davothegr8
Knee Dragger
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Milton, Fl
Posts: 205
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Yea I'm attempting this same mod. I wish someone would send me the part number for the diode. My bike is 04. Someone help.
davothegr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 05:36 PM   #19
dcope17
World Superbike Racer
 
dcope17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dana Point, Ca
Posts: 2,120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by davothegr8 View Post
Yea I'm attempting this same mod. I wish someone would send me the part number for the diode. My bike is 04. Someone help.

It is simple. The 2 wires that go to the keyed ignition, Cut those and put a toggle switch instead of the keyed switch. Got mine at radio shack.
__________________
Ride hard today, Ride harder tomorrow,!
Walk close to Christ today, Walk closer tomorrow

How to fix headlights... Dreamzboy's excellent write-up
http://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?t=138034
dcope17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 06:35 PM   #20
slab42
World Superbike Racer
 
slab42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Gloucester, MA
Posts: 1,510
Images: 13
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the 03-04 has a third wire at the ignition that is not a straight 12v on/off circuit. It needs to be wired properly with the correct piece to work right.
__________________
06 Silver 600RR
My mod thread
slab42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:48 PM.



Powered by: vBulletin | vBadvanced CMPS & Gallery
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Honda Grom Forum Harley Davidson Forum Honda 600RR Forum Kawasaki Forum Yamaha R6 Forum Yamaha FZ-09 Forum
1199 Panigale Forum Roadglide Forum Honda CBR1000 Forum Vulcan Forum Yamaha R1 Forum Yamaha R3 Forum
Ducati Monster Forum Harley Forums Honda CBR250R Forum ZX10R Forum Star Raider Forum Yamaha Viking Forum
Suzuki GSXR Forum V-Rod Forums Honda Shadow Forum Kawasaki Motorcycle Forum Star Warrior Forum KTM Duke 390 Forum
SV650 Forum BMW S1000RR Forum Honda Fury Forum Kawasaki Versys Forum Drag Racing Forum Ducati 899 Panigale Forum
Suzuki V-Strom BMW K1600 Triumph Forum Victory Forums Sportbikes BMW NineT Forum
Volusia Forum BMW F800 Forum Triumph 675 Forum MV Agusta Forum HD Street Forum Suzuki GW250 Forum
Yamaha Motorcycles Victory Gunner Forum Honda Vultus Forum HD LiveWire Forum Ninja H2 Forum Ducati Scrambler Forum Kawasaki Ninja 250SL Forum