Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
I was having starting issues with my stock cbr (expect taillights). The symptoms were battery acting dead when bike was hot. After cool down of perhaps.. 15 minutes... the bike would start. (starts perfect cold) Driving around with this big irritation seems to have, over time, made it worse. Tonight leaving from class, It didn't start at all, even though the bike was cold. (class was 3 hours) Here is the video I took as I tried to start it.

what do you guys think?

·
Registered
133 Posts
from the video it sounds like the starter isn't turning. I'm no expert but I would check:

-battery - make sure there enough juice
-wiring - shorts etc
-starter - thermal expansion might be stopping it turning in its case, or it could be the bushes not touching.

These are my thoughts anyway.

I'm guessing some of the more experienced members such as Nico and others may think of other things.

Hope you get it sorted anyway

·
Premium Member
13,137 Posts
Possibly a dead regulator / rectifier (r/r) causing the hot start issue... common problem on 03-04 models, just replace it with one from an 05-06

The clicking sound is the starter solenoid activating then the battery voltage dropping as a result of the extra load, when this happens it goes below the hold voltage of the solenoid which then turns off and because you have your finger still on the starter the process starts again causing the clicking. This is generally caused by a dead battery which may in turn have been caused by the r/r, it may just need charging up but it's worth having it load tested anyway once it is charged.

And last thing to check would be the starter motor.

·
Registered
501 Posts
get the battery tested and if its good then most likely its the starter. you can check your R/R by putting a volt meter on the battery and while running it should be over 14v

·
Premium Member
14,330 Posts