Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey all, I've been riding a cruiser for a couple years and am looking to buy my first sport bike. I am a complete novice to these so I am hoping to solicit this forum's eminent knowledge.

I have my eye on a 2006 600RR with 42,xxx miles. It has a clean title and the seller says it has never been in an accident. He will sell to me for $3,400 and it has a few notable extras: a set of race fairings, two bros slip on, scotts performance damper, pazzo levers, and a extra set of tires. He will also give me the OEM pipes.

The seller only put 1k miles on the bike. He said he bought it a few months ago from a good friend of his who bought the bike new. I will be speaking to the friend about maintenance history.

Assuming its been maintained properly, is this a good deal? What should I ask and look for to make sure the 42k miles isn't and won't be an issue? The bike has been a track bike most of its life, that's where most of the miles come from. Is this bad or good? What are the implications of being tracked so much?

All advice is greatly appreciated. I really like this bike and its one of the few in my area I can afford but I also want to be smart about this purchase.

·
Registered
966 Posts
There is literally no way it has 42,000 track miles on it. 10,000 track miles is an amazing amount of miles at 15,000 RPM and full throttle, 42k doesn't happen. If it somehow has, its a ticking time bomb. I'd say hell no to that bike.

·
Registered
1,833 Posts
Wouldn't buy it to expensive imo.

3000 if he could prove theres been a valve adjust done.. receipt from a dealer with a VIN number etc. Word of mouth is not good enough

You got to do coolant, forks, shock, check bearings, chain spricket, plugs, etc..

·
Registered
862 Posts