Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

So I am new to riding and finally bought me a "real" bike lol (95 cbr 600). I don't know anything mechanical wise I basically just know how to drive one. So I test drive it for a sec and it rode fine. It was 1.5 hrs away from home so I planned to ride it there. Well I went to the gas station and noticed it was saying it was running very hot and after I got gas it wouldn't start. I call the guy back and he comes and jumps it and I ask him about the temp gauge and he says it doesn't work. I start heading home and then stopped at the gas station about 45 mins later and its smoking so I turn it right off. There was not a drop of oil in it so we add it and I added coolant as well. It must have been bone dry too but I kept pouring until it was to the top of the neck (oops!) I had to push start it then I take off once again and I notice coolant running out underneath the cap and then I fwel fluid hit my foot and I pull over immediately. It was still running fine until i cut it off. I ended up towing it home. I had someone take a look and I blew 2 radiator hoses and not sure what else. Is it due to overfilling with coolant? Do u think its a major repair or not? I checked oil and it was very low but I only added a qt so it wasn't much in there anyways (not good I know). Any suggestions?

·
Registered
817 Posts
Here's my personal suggestion, and it may be overkill.

I say get a manual, either online or real, read how to drain and refill all your fluids. Drain everything, refill everything correctly... start from scratch. Imho.

Mort

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The stuff that was leaking out from the hoses was brownish fluid. I'm sure its been a very long time since its been flushed. The bike shop is picking it up tomorrow but I'm not sure how soon they can check it out. Im guessing the battery is no good so ill get that checked as well.

·