Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to the cbr world, but not new to motorcycles and my cbr has the most random fuel milage ever. When I got it I averaged 140 miles to a tank and recently I have only been getting around 60 miles out of 3 gallons. Any tips on what could be causing this? I figure I will start with the basics of plugs and air filter. But could it be something that needs to be tuned? Thanks in advance guys.

·
Registered
236 Posts
60 miles out of 3 gallons? something is wrong unless you dont get off like 14,000 rpm...
try also tire pressure in addition to what you mentioned, and check it out, otherwise idk somethings off

does it sound weird? does it smell rich(the exhaust) ? etc

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I got the bike with 12000 miles so there was no break in period for me. For the first 10 tanks of gas I averaged around 140 miles per tank with riding moderately hard on back roads and some highway. Recently I have been only riding to and from work/ school, mainly on the highway and I average around 60-80 miles per tank.

It runs fine with no engine lights but does smell a bit rich from time to time. I thought that was caused by an aftermarket exhaust.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I appreciate the help guyd. Im going to check the tire pressure when I get home tonight. It should be 32psi front and 42 rear..correct?

·
Registered
188 Posts
I appreciate the help guyd. Im going to check the tire pressure when I get home tonight. It should be 32psi front and 42 rear..correct?

According to the 2007 Honda CBR600RR Owner's Manual page 136:

36 psi front
42 psi back

·
Registered
7,442 Posts
I don't know many people who run the "recommended" pressure. I personally run 32-34 front and 36 rear

·
Registered
3,325 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #12