Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Bought a 2009 600rr Phoenix edition and after 2 weeks of riding it, no matter what gear but mostly can hear it in 4-6th...it makes a humming sound. Like a higher pitch rrrrrrrrrrrrhhhhhhhhhhhhh sound when throttle is given.

Bike has 1,100 miles. Not too many miles. It just bugs me because this bike is in showroom mint condition. I lubed the chain because I thought it was a dry chain and the motor sprocket was the culprit. After lubing sound still exists. I can't really hear where it's coming from because I wear a helmet.

I'm a noob at bikes but very mechanically inclined with cars and stuff.

Any help would be appreciated

Casey

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I could with my gopro camera. Not sure where to put the cam and mount it. It's windy as **** today. Might not be a good day.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Could be chain loose, sprocket wear or a bad bearing ...not sure though

·
Registered
28 Posts
Not sure, just a thought. Make sure your rear axle is straight. If someone tightened the chain and is too tight or your axle is not perfectly straight, this could be putting strain on those important gears and bearings and sprockets. Check your chain play too.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Went to sportland and they tightened the chain. They also took it for a spin to listen to it. The mechanic said nothing sounds out of the ordinary. He said get a pipe so you don't have to hear the motor noise and transmission. Said stock mufflers are so quiet that you hear all the mechanical noises. I guess I'm getting a pipe. Lol

·
Registered
1,583 Posts