Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I want to build a spare motor with more reliability and even more durability. I tried looking through the forums and most people just pointed directly to a HRC kit. I built a motor before in a 92 3000gt VR4 and loved it. I just want to make sure I'm getting all the same components down that I should be looking at for a bike.... as I have never done it before

Crankshaft+bearings
Connecting Rods
Pistons
Exhaust & Intake valves
camshafts

These are the main components correct? And than everything else should be inspected to see if they need replacing? Does this sound about right?

·
Registered
966 Posts
What do you mean more reliability and durabilty? I've never seen a blown 600RR motor without someone crashing or downshifting wrong, unless you plan on putting moto2 amount of power to the rear wheel.

I don't know of any aftermarket cranks
Probably some connecting rods but totally un-needed at stock or even +20hp from stock.
Pistons you can get easy
valves should be easy as well
cams you can source from several places including HRC.

·
Registered
6,774 Posts
JE 13.5 pistons
Carrillo H-beam steel rods
Lightened & balanced crankshaft
Gas flowed heads
Milled head .006"
Cometic .018" head gasket
APE cam sprocket & chain tensioner
Bearing shells
Seals
O-rings
Crankcase bolts

·
Registered
6,774 Posts
Thanks for the compliment Tary, I'm not authority when it comes to engines & suspension nor do I even want to, it's just that I made it my mission in life to get the most out of our bikes by taking both paths, the cheap way (supersport) & the expensive way (superbike).

Wish I had more cash for parts & dyno time, I'm inching closer to 115hp on my supersport engine build on pump gasoline, playing with velocity stack length, cam timing, fuel & ignition mapping, still waiting for the dyno owner to finish his new HQ so we can tune to our heart's content.