Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
whats up all...just wondering for those of you that are avid dirt riders. I am going to buy a dirt bike soon. Preferably a honda. I haven't ridden dirt in about 5 years. I am wanting to get back into it now and was wondering what your guys/girls opinions are.

I'm 5'10 165lbs and in pretty good athletic shape. I've been riding dirt/street for about 10 years but as i said before no dirt in the last 5. I'll be doing little track riding and mostly trail riding with a few dune trips mixed in there. I have about 4k to play with. Thanks for all the advice in advance!

Steve

·
fast03600rr
9,995 Posts
i would just go with a 250. i know alot of fast guys that ride 250's and can kick my ass when i'm on my 450..

·
Registered
205 Posts
I am about your same build and in your same situation of not riding dirt in a few years. I just bought a cr 250 (2-stroke) monday and love it:icon_lol:. I have rode a kx250f and a crf450x and owned a yz426. My opinion would be to get the 450. The 250f I rode seemed to be down on power for my liking and the 450 had so much all around power it was a blast to ride. I also hear of more 250's needing to be rebuilt more often because they rev higher. I also saw this first hand as the guy with the 250 blew it up after 1.5 yrs and the 450x has been going strong for almost 4yrs now.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks for the advice! I'm not worried about people beating me. I'm not going to be at the track very often I live in one of the most trail infested towns in california so I'll be out exploring! And I keep hearing different schools of thought for trails. But thanks for the advice I'll definatey keep it in mind!

·
Registered
939 Posts
I ride a CRF250X and regualry ride out with others who ride CRF250F/450F/450X. WR250/450 KTM EXE XR's etc.....