Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

My new 2013 cbr600rr I bought this month now has 700+ miles. Should I pay $300+ and get it serviced or do my own oil change? What other "services" are done in the first service for a new bike? Can I do them on my own?( i have no mechanical background other than working ninja 300 last year and I also do not have alot of tools just the basics)
Is it worth paying $300+ vs. me doing the oil and oil filter change?

Any help and input is appreciated.

·
Registered
881 Posts
I did my 600 miles on my 2014 my self. But I have lots of experience turning wrenches. So yes you can do it your self. I just took all the fairings off, looked over the bike and checked everything.

·
Super Moderator
1,943 Posts
I always service my vehicles myself, unless I don't have the tools to do it. For example I haven't done the VCI yet, as I don't have any feeler gauges or shims yet.

Depends if you want to DIY, grab a service manual and see for yourself. :)

·
Registered
181 Posts
I just had my first service done. Same as you. New 2013 with 700 miles. Only charged me $212 .. I'm very mechanically inclined but I like them doing the first service. Then if I have a warrantee issue they had a chance to look at it. After the first service I always do my own and save receipts.

·
Registered
53 Posts
I had the dealer do my first service at 1000 kms. It ran me about $250. On a bike as fast as this I'd rather have the people who work on them everyday look it over rather than me. For the first service at least.

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,833 Posts
What could they possible do other than change oil and check fluids/fill tires..

I think you can handle that....

·
Registered
803 Posts