Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive been riding a 250rr for 5 years now and just got rid of it. Was looking forward to purchasing a new 07 600rr. However all my friends ride 1000’s and are strongly advising bypassing the 600 and going straight to a 1000. I use my bike as a daily commuter (well most days), but will do the occasional track day (maybe twice a year). The main factors I am looking at in choosing the 600 over the 1000 are running costs and usability. My friends are telling me that I will quickly grow tired of the 600 whereas on a 1000 you will always feel challenged and excited by the power.

-Anyhow I was hoping to seek some advice from long term 600 riders or riders who have gone back to 600’s after owning a 1000. Are my friends right? Or it more a personal preference? Or… what?

thanks

·
Registered
5,131 Posts
I've been riding 600's for 5 years and haven't grown one bit tired of them. Thousands are fun in a straight line. that's about it. 600 costs less and handles better. plenty of power there.

*edit*

for the record, I have not only ridden 600's. I've taken an 02 R1, 03 RC51, and an 06 GSXR1000 through the twisties for a day. I still prefer the 600.

·
Ducati Champion Del Mondo
7,847 Posts
Can I ask how old you are?

Jason

·
Post Whore Extraordinaire
19,904 Posts
Get a 600 dude, plenty enough juice, cost less, and cheaper to insure and mod.

·
Registered
282 Posts
I will never own anything but a 600 class bike, the liters don't do anything for me. I know absolutly no one who can ride one to even half of it's ability. 3 of the guys that I ride with just got liter bikes (04 10R, 06 R1, 06 R1). 2 of the 3 have totaled their bikes, within 3 months of having them. All that extra power got them. When we go ride the twisties they leave me on the straights, but I make it up in the corners.

·
Registered
1,408 Posts