Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I plan on getting a bike in about 2 weeks. The dilemma I face is which bike to get. I've already decided on honda. I had a 2004 600RR previously. My focus is going to be on track riding. I love the 600rr, but the reviews I've read on the 1000rr suggest that it's also a great track bike. I'm a 100% complete newbie at track riding. Never actually been on a track, so would the 600 be a better decision?

·
Registered
1,876 Posts
Yes the 600 would be better. I just got the new 08 and while it is a fun ride it takes a bit more skill to really utilize the power. Learn cornerspeed first then you can move to more power

·
Administrator
51,143 Posts
600 would be the easier bike to learn on based on your previous exp

·
Registered
6,502 Posts
+1!!! The 08 1000RR is an AWESOME bike! But a 600 will help you learn better, faster!

·
Registered
10,419 Posts
+1 to the 600 (07) if you can get it.
But the 08 1kRR is so tempting... :icon_lol:

·
Registered
240 Posts
I would suggest the 600 as well. Some of my buddies with 1K's actually complain a little that its too much power for some of the tracks around here, they say its hard to get out of third gear haha.

·
Registered
2,722 Posts
ill get a 1000 eventually in another 2years or so. I just love my 600 so much

·
Registered
222 Posts
Yep, get a 600

Ive heard that on the track, especially to virgin track riders, the 1000 is so much that its almost not even fun just because you've always got to worry about giving it too much whereas on the 600, spinning the rear on the corner exit isnt as big of a problem. Dont get me wrong though, you've still got to be on your toes with a 600 but you get my point

Learning on smaller bikes helps you become a better rider rather than just hopping on a 1000