Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I started riding this season on a beaten-up Kawi EX250-H. I am very thankful I started small because first few days after the MSF course I was making all sorts of small errors like turning wide into oncoming traffic, over-reving on downshifts, etc... I've now ridden a 1000 km's. I know this means I'm still a massive noob, but now that I have my shifting dialed in and am using most of the rubber on my skinny tire, I'm starting to feel the itch to upgrade.

Obviously, I would love to get something like a used CBR 600rr, but the way they are described on web forums, I guess that would be a death sentence(?). Would an F4I be a better option for someone in my position? I spend most of my time putting around twisty side roads out of the city, which I think may have helped me learn some of the cornering and throttle control basics quicker than if I was piling on freeway miles (I've only been on the freeway 3 times, and just briefly at that).

A common recommendation I see is an SV650 since the suspension can be modified and whatnot. The reason I haven't jumped on that idea is the high price and low supply compared equivalent year/mileage 600s. Then to start modifying the suspension would take time and money that seems unreasonable from my uneducated perspective (this may make perfect sense to someone who knows better than I).

Do any of you experienced riders have tips of things to work on, or signs that my riding may have progressed to the point where I could handle an aggressive 600? I'm not necessarily looking for the speed, but rather the tight handling, modern technology, and awesome looks/sound of the bigger bikes. Also, I plan to take a beginner track school as soon as I can, but am concerned about the grip from my current tires and that parts keep breaking on my current ride. But I digress...