Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys!
So I really want to get a 600rr, but am wondering if I'm ready for it...

I started riding exactly a year ago (I'm 34-yo btw) and my first and only bike so far is 2006 Honda Shadow Spirit 750. I've put few thousand miles on it already, but I can't stop day dreaming about a super sport, and CBR600rr is what I'm fixated on!

I'm also a rather responsible rider; I don't want top speed, rather the agility of a sport bike; ease of handling, etc. My shadow feel like I'm muscling with a cow at times.

So, 34-yo responsible father of two, 1 year / 2k-3k miles behind my belt. Should I go for it, or do you think I need more years/miles behind moving to super sport (btw I'm glad i started with a cruiser, i think it was very forgiving at the begining; i know some people START on super sports...).

Your thoughts?

Thanks!
Martin

·
BOTM Winner 02/15
237 Posts
Hi Martin,

Go to a dealer and test ride one. If it scares the **** out of you then look for something else. The CBR600RR is considered one of the most forgiving super sport bikes.

I started on an Ninja 300 and also drove 3k miles before switching to a 600RR, the transition wasn't that difficult.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi Martin,

Go to a dealer and test ride one. If it scares the **** out of you then look for something else. The CBR600RR is considered one of the most forgiving super sport bikes.

I started on an Ninja 300 and also drove 3k miles before switching to a 600RR, the transition wasn't that difficult.
not one dealer in my area offers test rides on sport bikes (that I know of, I check with 2) :(

·
Registered
113 Posts
You just have to ride within YOUR abilities.
Well said.