Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
932 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all...this is going to be a bit long, but please bear with me. So I work as a bouncer on thursday and friday nights to earn some extra cash (so I can afford my track day habbit :D ). One of the previous bouncers came to the bar last night to show us all his SRAD he just purchased on monday. I noticed he had a broken windscreen, and when asked, he replied that he had done that doing an endo/stoppie the day after he purchased it. So he asks me if I will show him how to do twisties (yeah...you should be able to tell where this is going now). With his burn-outs and wheelies he did in the parking lot I should have known this was not a good idea.

Jump forward to this morning at 7:00AM. I decide we should head out into the country early. I told him to dress in jacket and jeans...and he shows up in shorts and a T-shirt. I should have called it off then. I know a good road leading up a small mountain that has progressively sharper turns, starting out with a 1/2 mile section of realy easy bends. We do about 10 mins of highway riding on off-ramps just so I can gague his abilities. After that we head to the gentle section of turns. I stop and tell him about looking through turns, not target fixating on the car in the on comming lane and the standard stuff. I mention nothing of getting off the bike because this is definitely not what he should be concentrating on at this point. I told him he should lead the way. He said he would feel uncomfortable with me behind him. When I said I will absolutely, positively not lead, he replied that I should just go ahead and we would meet-up at the end of the gentle section of turns. The logic here is that he would get comfortable and then I would follow him on the second or third time through to see if he was getting his technique down.