Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I sold my CBR before winter. I couldn't afford the monthly payments.

Now summer is almost here and I need another bike. I'm looking at a Ninja 650R, which is new this year....but very comparable to the SV650 which I'm guessing people are more familiar with.

I'm just hoping that I won't be too disapointed going from the RR to a "beginners bike".

I read all these reviews that say the SV650 and the Ninja are more fun than most true sports bikes (on normal roads). Mainly due to their low-mid range power. I don't go over 100mph very often and the Ninja and SV are supposed to pull strongly to about 120....and then they die out.

Plus I took my CBR on the track a few times....and I was never comfortable cornering it. I'm no noob though...I've been riding for 11 years and placed first with the other noobs on the track that day (there was 5 of us).

Sounds like these "easier to ride" bikes might be good for a year or two.

Or will it just feel like a slower bike....and that's it?

·
Registered
38 Posts
My first bike was an SV (naked) It was a GREAT bike. Very easy to ride, and loads of fun, not to mention a pretty good track bike. The v-twin's definitely do not have the top-end power like the I-4's, but they are definitely torquey down on the low end. In other words, they are pretty good commuter bikes....great for just cruising around town.

·
Registered
617 Posts
I had an '03 SV650S and thought it was a great bike. Decent low end grunt off the line but lacked the power in the top end. I could not keep up with my brothers on their older ZX-11s, not a problem on the RR now. Although my RR has made me a more confident rider, in many ways I still miss the SV. I'd probably go for the SV over the 650R.

·
Registered
787 Posts