Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
5,131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding for 5 years, and now I'm being required by the military to take the ERC..every 2 years. Because over the course of 2 years riding every day and doing track days...apparently you actually LOSE skill and need to do some parking lot training to build it up again.

In all seriousness though, has anyone taken it? Taken anything good away from it? Learned nothing? Waste of time?

·
Registered
1,800 Posts
Yeah I took it when I got back from deployment in Feb. It was the basic rider course all over again except you use the "peanut" and get to do more cornering. No high speed cornering but more than the basic riders.

·
Registered
1,779 Posts
I took it in 02 to get my Alaska MI.

I thought it was good.It refreshes what you know but might not allways think about.

·
Registered
5,131 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What's the peanut?

·
Registered
346 Posts
dozadj said:
Yeah I took it when I got back from deployment in Feb. It was the basic rider course all over again except you use the "peanut" and get to do more cornering. No high speed cornering but more than the basic riders.
You use WHAT?!? lol, just kidding. Seriously though, what is the "peanut?"

·
Registered
346 Posts

·
Registered
1,800 Posts
usmcr6 said:
What's the peanut?
Just the paint on the pavement that you didn't use in the basice course. It's outlined in a mild S shape. Basically you ride in an oval with the exception of that one side which has a mild S shape. The focus on that excercise was to maintain speed through corners. Through the whole excercise they don't want you to get on the brakes. I guess basically teaching you to not get to hot into a corner. I dunno know but that was the most fun part of the course though since you could go as fast as you wanted as long as you didn't lowside or get on the brakes.

·
Registered
5,131 Posts
Discussion Starter #8