Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm new to the forum. :wave:
I bought today a beautiful '05 (blue, practically new) and can't wait to ride it (but must wait until end of January).

I am not a complete newbie, I rode a unrestricted Cagiva Mito for ~2 years until about 4 years ago.
After I sold it I kept commuting daily on a small scooter and racing bicycles, road and mtb (~10-15k km/year).

This is just to say that I have some motorbike experience, I'm used to be on the road and handle two wheels, but never rode a powerful engine like the 600rr. The Mito was a nice bike with real brakes and aggressive position, quite powerful for a 125cc (some 35hp IIRC), but nothing compared to a 600rr.

I will take a course also because it's mandatory by law here to get the driving license upgraded to >25kW.

I read a lot of posts suggesting to start with a small bike to avoid picking up bad habits that are hard to loose.
But what are exactly those bad habits?
I hope I learned enough on the 125 to begin learning the RR, but I don't want to start the wrong way!

p.s. waiting for the new beast here's a pic of the old Mito...

Attachments

·
Registered
744 Posts
Welcome to the forum mate! You're going to love that RR! I was in the same boat just a little while back. We too (here in Australia) are restricted to 250's or 500kw/tonne. Once you get your full license you can ride whatever you want.

Bad Habits? I can think of a few:

- Riding/driving too close to the person in front
- Not wearing the right protective gear, especially gloves. I see ppl riding w/ out gloves all the time and it scares me. To me, gloves are even more important than a leather jacket!

Anyway, enjoy the forum. There's a lot to learn here!

·
Registered
242 Posts