Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
After some time I finally managed to take on the task of bleeding the abs system on my bike. The light had started blinking for sometime and after quote from the agents I decided to rather by myself the factory manual and attempt it myself. This process worked for me, I am not a mechanic try this at your own risk.

The manual states that if you have had air in your normal brake line it is recommended that you bleed the valve unit. If you have removed the valve unit then you must also bleed the power unit In my case I only did the front valve unit I did not do the power unit as it was unnecessary.

In the manual there are for different procedures for the different units 1 for the front valve one for the rear valve, one for the front power unit and one for the rear power unit. The following steps are for the front valve unit bleeding. before starting bleed the front brakes as you would on a conventional non ABS bike I had done this the day before so there was no need for me. the whole process including removal and reassembly of parts took less then two hours, I went through the bleeding process three times in 45 mins. If you are not sure how to remove the tank message me and I will do a write up on that if there isn’t any one on this forum.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/iuemcuksb8r84zh/IMG_0636.JPG?dl=0

1 Remove fairings and fuel tank, the valve unit is located on the left side of the bike and it has two nipples, as you look towards the front of the bike the left nipple is the power unit side and the right one is the stroke simulator side.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ief80r1erzdhy1i/IMG_0633.JPG?dl=0

2 find the cable with the dummy connector, remove the dummy connector and short the two ends with some electrical wire, the connector is next to the battery on the main wiring harness

https://www.dropbox.com/s/6z0wv39f8ip261a/IMG_0632.JPG?dl=0