Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, my dad just got a DSLR, and I was going to steal it from him to take some pics. I have seen some of the stuff that some members here have done. I love the pics, but I have NO photography experience at all aside from using a point and shoot. Anyone here care to make a 'quick' how-to on how to take pics with certain properties. I have been playing with the camera a bit, but I still don't know what settings do what. I have taken a bunch of pics with random settings, but as you would guess, I have no clue how to get the right combination of shutter speed and arpeture (sp?) and redbull! Educate me! What kinds of filters are good for what, etc.

I try to take pics that look like this:toothy4: but come out like this:bootyshak

Also, any input as to what programs you guys use to 'finish' your pics if any. How to get certain colors to pop, etc. Any and all info is appreciated! TIA!

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've been there, it is 32 pages of people talking about what equipment they use. I was looking for a break down of what each function/feature does, etc. Something that teaches a noob without having to sort through that much crap.

·
Registered
8,768 Posts
I've been there, it is 32 pages of people talking about what equipment they use. I was looking for a break down of what each function/feature does, etc. Something that teaches a noob without having to sort through that much crap.

good luck on that.

·
Registered
2,589 Posts
try the users manual

·
Registered
8,768 Posts
I have been reading the owners manual, but it just tells me how to adjust the different settings, not what the benefit is or recommendations.
there is no "recomended" settings, it comes down to how YOU want the picture to look

i personally like to keep my fstop as low as possible (bigger opening in the lens) and adjust exposure times when i use my dslr