Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts
D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a little project in mind, and I have no experience with designing or making camshafts.

·
Registered
8,768 Posts
I've got a little project in mind, and I have no experience with designing or making camshafts.
design is easy, its the mfg process tht kills it, not many machine shops are willing to do them due to the tolerances required

·
Registered
448 Posts
cam shafts are best left to the pros. I work with cad 50 hours a week and i wouldn't think about doing a cam. That is something that takes years to get good at. If you want a custom cam then call up a race shop that makes them and start there.

·
Registered
266 Posts
I agree with the above two posts. A race shop is your best bet.

But usually you get some camshafts and the lobes are hardwelded and reground to the profiles you want. I guess some racers have some pretty radical lobe profiles I'm told.

Anyway, I think there are specialty machines dedicated solely to grinding camshafts - not something your run-of-the-mill machine shop will have.

·
Registered
266 Posts
Maybe try APE out in California...
or Webcam out in Riverside...
or megacycle out on the east coast...
there are probably plenty of places. Expect to spend about $400 (I'm guessing for two cams...).

D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yeah, I know all of the above. I'm just looking to get a jump on getting things designed for the project so I can figure out the rest of the changes. Everything else is electronic, but all depends on how the camshaft will work.

D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
is the project top secret???
Nope.

I love the torque and power delivery of twins, but love the agility and balance of the 600RR. Screamer engines are nice, but big bang engines are even better (The R1 has an irregular firing order, so don't mention that bike).