Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
341 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im a noob and got a couple questions.

Bought a blue cbr a couple months ago. This happened to me a few times especially today, I'm in stop and go traffic, temp guage is reading 227. I stall the bike, then I can't restart it, until the the temp is below 200. Anyone no what the problem is?

Also what damage could you do if you jump start a bike with a car?

Thanks

·
Registered
151 Posts
you might be having a problem with your battery...i heard that it was a prob with some cbrs that it wouldnt start til the fan turned off which is usually under 220.....so maybe the fan and lights on together eating too much juice to start your battery....anyway just something i had read before might be the cause...

·
Registered
591 Posts
Jump starting a bike can kill your charging system not a good thing best bet is to buy a trickle charger.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Once the engine and starter gets "heat soaked" this will happen as the tolarances shrink and tighten up. Motorcycle batteries also suck...lol. The battery loses power when they gt really hot.

Happy Trails!

·
Registered
277 Posts
Happened to me on a couple occassions. I'm in stop & go traffic all week now, so with the combination of my lights, fan and high temp of the engine it drained the crap outta my battery. I picked up a Battery Tender and now make an effort to fully charge my battery every couple of months now. Plus I try to remember to shut off my high beam when the fan kicks on.

·
Registered
176 Posts
Kid said:
I'd get an R6
Go away troll.

Anyways,
When the bike gets too hot it wont start. You can push start it, do not jump start with another cars battery. Just push the bike up to 5-6mph in gear (hold clutch in obviously while getting up to speed) then pop the clutch and she'll start right up.

·
Registered
50 Posts
When bum starting, try 2nd or even 3rd gear is better for easier starting.

Just my $0.02

·
Registered