Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I change my oil after recently purchasing my 03 and the clutch still has an occasional slight slip on very high revs!
Never done a clutch before,but looks like I’m going to have to soon. I’m not too bad on the spanners,but I’m no mechanic,is it a straight forward job or difficult and will I need to purchase a repair manual to do the job guys
Thanks

·
BOTM Winner 07/16
880 Posts
Watch out for the washers as you pull out the clutch cover.. one of them can fall very easily..

I found that having the bike on side stand (instead of paddock stand) gives a better angle so that the washers don't fall out when you pull the clutch cover off.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok I’ll keep an eye out on them.
I’ll replace the friction plates and steel plates and springs,is there a gasket on the 03 or is it a “liquid” gasket

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It’s only done 23k Miles,but the previous owner did carry his wife as pillion. He never mentioned the clutch slipping so I’m just hoping there’s nothing else “hiding”

·
Registered
389 Posts
It's a pretty straight forward job.

The Honda service manual is pretty easy to find in PDF form. I would use that as a resource. If you can't find it shoot me a PM

·
Registered
966 Posts
It’s only done 23k Miles,but the previous owner did carry his wife as pillion.
My f4i has over 83,000 with at a very minimum 20,000 done 2up while riding very aggressive, still the original clutch. The previous owner didn't know how to ride. Pull your clutch and inspect before ordering a new one, make sure you need it.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Your probably right,he couldn’t ride correctly or the only other issue would be that he’s been using fully synthetic oil after reading these clutches prefer semi.

·
Registered
2,020 Posts