Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off I want to say i have learned a lot just lurking about these forums. Now that i have started my hunt seriously I decided to register. I am in the market for my first 600rr and i have been looking around locally. I finally found one for a great price and good mileage but the problem is it has a godawful paint job. It looks professionally done but its just far too gaudy and flashy for my tastes. I wont describe it in detail because I dont want to offend anyone's tastes here but i will say it had tons of painted stars with an awful background color that i just cant stand.

That said I have no experience with painting bikes or cars for that matter. Can I just get someone to spray over it in just flat black color will that stick? I dont need anything fancy color wise i just dont want the underneath color to show through. Should i be looking for a set of replacement body panels? Whats a professional paint job on this type of bike run?
Any help would be appreciated.

·
BOTM Winner 05/15
9,996 Posts
You will need to sand the paint to make sure the new stuff sticks. Get yourself some fine sandpaper, and rub every square inch of the panels. Then spray with a primer coat, base coat, clear like normal, with the required sanding in between.

A typical single color primer/base/clear with no prep work shouldn't run more the a couple hundred. Here is a painter on the WERA boards doing a 3 color with number plates for $375. Keep in mind this is for racel bodywork, so there isn't as many pieces as street plastics, so you'll probably pay more.

http://weraclassifieds.com/ads/paintwork-for-track-bodywork/

·
Registered
352 Posts
If you decide that you don't wanna do the leg work, you can buy a set of aftermarket fairings for about $500.US. Slap those on and keep or sell the old fairings. I'm sure there is someone w/ similiar tastes as the prev. owner.