Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,076 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive been riding for about 2years now and have always heard that its not if your gonna go down its when. and i believe this to be true. my question is when the inevitable happens (you take a spill) what do you do when you hit the ground. I know there is many factors that play in on this subject (speeed, location ect..) but in general do you roll up in a ball and tumble, do you relax and slide, i have no clue? anyone have any ideas or have some first hand knowlege. any advice besides trying not to sh#t my pants would be comforting. thanks.

·
Registered
307 Posts
i'm not sure as i am a newbie myself, but having watched some crash videos (pro & non-pro), i'd say that you let yourself slide with gears taking all the impact until you come to a stop. i think it looks much safer that way IMO. but if you are unlucky and start tumbling, you have to roll yourself using some judo techniques for your own safety. i don't think holding against that force won't do any good..

but then again, i'm a newbie and never crashed.. so let's hear what the experts would say. i'd like to know as well.

·
Registered
63 Posts
I dont know that there is a whole lot you can do. I went down a while back and I just kinda rolled over on my back and slid. I stuck my hands out on the road to try and stop myself a little quicker but I dont really know that that was a good idea. If possible I would say try to make sure you dont slam into anything like a telephone pole or something. Just ride responsibly and wear your gear...thats about all any of us can do.

·
Registered
595 Posts