Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 112 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
EDIT: Finished cutting, step by step pics on post 19 and down

I have the Two Brothers Carbon Fiber slip on and I hate how much it sticks past the tail of the bike so this weekend I am going to cut the pipe down by about 2 inches

I am a carpenter and I have a extra miter saw I am going to put a brand new steel tooth blade on (sharp and one time use in this case) to cut the carbon fiber and steel core.

plan is to drill out the rivets, tape the entire pipe mark where to cut then also put the cut on a 1-2* so the tip will be centered, hoping that the tape and high speed of the saw will cut the carbon fiber nice and clean and not fray it also keep the cut strait on my line. then drill holes for the rivets, re rivet the back peice on and re install.

I will post up some pics of before, during and after. I might do this Friday because I am thinking I might take that day off.

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yea it sticks out that much too, but the main reason is when my put a tripage light in there and do not want the tip of the pipe blocking the light, I want if the same as the arka exhaust

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I guess I forgot but does how I am going to cut it sound like a good way?

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
well if I jack it up I'll learn my lesson..........

·
Registered
1,573 Posts
maybe use a blade that is made out the stuff that dremel cut off wheels are made of. I used to cut carbon fiber with them for my rc cars. put superglue on the cut edge to keep it from fraying after you cut it.

·
Registered
162 Posts