Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
305 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know from the title you would think I am talking about wheelies....but sorry, not today. I am a fairly new rider and I find myself clutchin for turns. Is this a normal habit or do I just need to practice how to close the throttle????? Sometimes I can turn by just down shifting and easing off the throttle, but 9 out of 10 times I find my self pulling in the clutch, down shifting, then easing off the clutch. Is this a normal practice or am I just a squid?????

·
Registered
2,429 Posts
i don't clutch in when going thru a corner.. i downshift before it and control the throttle. it's unsafe when u clutch in thru a turn, because you can't use the engine to slow down or contorl the throttle respond other than the brakes.

i am not a pro at bikes but it's the concept i learn from driving a manual car.

·
Registered
27 Posts
You shouldn't be touching the clutch during corners.. Slow down before the corner, then accelerate through the corner. The acceleration helps stabalize the bike. (Straight outta the MSF course if you happen to take it)

·
Registered
14,362 Posts
ssm6 said:
You shouldn't be touching the clutch during corners.. Slow down before the corner, then accelerate through the corner. The acceleration helps stabalize the bike. (Straight outta the MSF course if you happen to take it)
Absolutely true

·
Registered
883 Posts
ssm6 said:
Word... All braking and shifting should be done prior to entering the corner. Slow into the corner, then either maintain speed or accelerate out of the corner.

N

·
0 Posts
I used to clutch it in out of fear when I was a noob. Now, do me a favor...what is the last thing you recall looking at as you were clutching it in. For me, I noticed I was looking 5 if not 10 feet in front of me (mostly the ground) when I should be looking fully through the turn. My mind was on the clutching and ground rather than looking through the turn.