Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
BOTY 2014 Winner
Joined
·
2,726 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
so ill just make a new thread, one problem down got the bike started, thanks wrathsrr. quick gist whats done to the bike since last started.. bazzaz system with qs& z bomb installed, PAIR system taken out, arrow headers installed, servo removed replaced with TST servo eliminator..



also probably doesn't help that my kickstand kill switch is by passed? but I've rode the bike plenty of times after that no lights..



what do i check, and how?
 

·
BOTY 2014 Winner
Joined
·
2,726 Posts
Discussion Starter #2





Can these scothlocs cause it?

Read up on the codes and it states that if engine light stays on no blinks it mean i have a short in the lines? Can it give me the light since my headlights are not connected? Am i missing something dumb again?


Sent from Motorcycle.com App
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts
I can't remember how it is exactly but don't you have to have the kickstand down for the FI light to blink and give the code? If you have it bypassed it may think it's not stopped where you can count the code. Just throwing it out there, could be way off. If I remember I can check my shop manual when I get back but I would be surprised if there is a code for no blinks.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
51,152 Posts
0 blinks usually = bank angle sensor, ECM, PGM-FI fuse
 

·
BOTY 2014 Winner
Joined
·
2,726 Posts
Discussion Starter #6

·
BOTY 2014 Winner
Joined
·
2,726 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

·
BOTY 2014 Winner
Joined
·
2,726 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
It has to be something with the servo or something with bazzaz connection thats pretty much the only things that would effect it cuz it worked perfect before.. Also did the pair block offs but theres not much to miss there besides that lil hose.


Sent from Motorcycle.com App
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
51,152 Posts
So can it be that i connected the bazzaz wrong?


Sent from Motorcycle.com App
It might be possible for the light to reset on its own disconnect the battery for and reconnect it may be just may be it will clear on its own did you check the PGM-FI fuse we know you took care of the BAS issue
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,577 Posts
It can't be a problem with your power wire (blue scotchlock) as this would prevent the fuel pump from priming. Mine got loose and I ended up permanently soldering it in. (I think, but dont quote me on this, your Neutral detect would also prevent the pump from priming as I think mine has got loose because I had to nudge it once when my bike wouldnt prime. Hate these scotchlocks).

When you turn the ignition on, does the EML go off? Then when you start the bike, it comes back on after a couple of seconds? It could be a fault with your TST servo thing. I'm sure I have read somewhere their servo eliminator has been hit and miss.

I would also go back and recheck every connection, unplug/plug everything back in again, something may be loose.
 

·
BOTY 2014 Winner
Joined
·
2,726 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Engine light on (No Blinks)

It can't be a problem with your power wire (blue scotchlock) as this would prevent the fuel pump from priming. Mine got loose and I ended up permanently soldering it in. (I think, but dont quote me on this, your Neutral detect would also prevent the pump from priming as I think mine has got loose because I had to nudge it once when my bike wouldnt prime. Hate these scotchlocks).

When you turn the ignition on, does the EML go off? Then when you start the bike, it comes back on after a couple of seconds? It could be a fault with your TST servo thing. I'm sure I have read somewhere their servo eliminator has been hit and miss.

I would also go back and recheck every connection, unplug/plug everything back in again, something may be loose.

I read the same thing about the servo. Is there a way to check it? Also if i connected the coil wires wron or the injectors would the bike turn on?

And yea when i put the key on it turns on then shuts off when i turn it on and then turns on and stays on. Ill double check when i get home tho.


Sent from Motorcycle.com App
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts
I've gone through a couple of the Servo emulator but they blink everytime it burns out. TST is still doing some troubleshooting with it. If you want to confirm whether or not it's the Servo emulator just plug your Servo motor back in and see if the light goes off. Mine went away every time I plugged the motor back in and I'm actually going to run the motor in it until the bugs are worked out

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
 

·
BOTY 2014 Winner
Joined
·
2,726 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
I've gone through a couple of the Servo emulator but they blink everytime it burns out. TST is still doing some troubleshooting with it. If you want to confirm whether or not it's the Servo emulator just plug your Servo motor back in and see if the light goes off. Mine went away every time I plugged the motor back in and I'm actually going to run the motor in it until the bugs are worked out

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

I took the oem one apart i would have to play with it to put it back together. Lol does it do anything to the bike or put in limp mode or just the light.


Sent from Motorcycle.com App
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
51,152 Posts
The servo motor just tricks the ECU into believing the circuit is complete so if you leave it hooked up the FI light won't come on it's not that big anyway
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
51,152 Posts
Or follow this write up
I got tired of eveyone saying it's impossible so here you go:



I've not given a super in depth testing, just riding around the block at different throttle settings and RPM ranges. EFI light didn't turn on, also checked the voltages sent to the ECU and they look good.

Here is what happens: The red and blue wires are connected to the motor and switch poles to move the exhaust valve. The feedback is a potentiometer, the green wire is ground and the yellow/red is +5V. The brown wire is the input to the ECU.

When the red wire is energized the motor spins in the direction that increases voltage to the signal (brown) wire. Therefore I set the red wire to charge the capacitor (220ohm resistor there to limit how fast it chargesit, could overshoot without it). If it needs to move the valve the opposite way the red wire goes to ground and will lower the voltage in the capacitor. This replicates the pot moving the opposite direction. The 4.7k ohm resistor is simply there to protect the input line incase you hook things up wrong and send 12V into it.

These are the components I had sitting around and can be varied. These are all common values for these components however.

Enjoy.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts
I took the oem one apart i would have to play with it to put it back together. Lol does it do anything to the bike or put in limp mode or just the light.


Sent from Motorcycle.com App
Doesn't do anything to the bike besides throw the FI light. Every time my Servo emulator failed it was after I rode it and it went through a few cycles to burn out. It also blinked the code that correlates with the Servo so I would be surprised if this was actually your issue.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,577 Posts
I read the same thing about the servo. Is there a way to check it? Also if i connected the coil wires wron or the injectors would the bike turn on?

And yea when i put the key on it turns on then shuts off when i turn it on and then turns on and stays on. Ill double check when i get home tho.


Sent from Motorcycle.com App
Just plug the old one back in. If the cables have been removed that doesnt matter, just the motor is fine.

Injectors would just make it run real crap.

To me it does sound like your servo elim. Kit as the light comes on once the bike has started.
 

·
BOTY 2014 Winner
Joined
·
2,726 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
When you say you took the OEM one apart do you mean you cracked the motor case open? I took the cables off mine, plugged it up and bolted it back in. Only purpose it has now is keeping the FI light off

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
Just plug the old one back in. If the cables have been removed that doesnt matter, just the motor is fine.

Injectors would just make it run real crap.

To me it does sound like your servo elim. Kit as the light comes on once the bike has started.
so it doesn't matter that the lil housing the holes the cables is cracked open? I thought that alone would give me the light lol but I didn't touch the lil motor that in the subframe that's still good. ill connect it tonight. gna do samcos tonight as well so ill double check all the connections as well, but I made sure it clicked in
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts
so it doesn't matter that the lil housing the holes the cables is cracked open? I thought that alone would give me the light lol but I didn't touch the lil motor that in the subframe that's still good. ill connect it tonight. gna do samcos tonight as well so ill double check all the connections as well, but I made sure it clicked in
Nope, that is fine. I thought you cracked the motor housing itself open and was wondering why you did that :crackup:

Don't worry about bolting it back in, just pop the seat off, unplug the emulator and plug in the servo. You'll know whether or not it's that in minutes.
 
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
Top