Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

I'm a new member / rider and ride with some friends that are better than me. Some of them wheelie, some don't. I've only put about 600 miles on my 07 600rr, and about 1000 on my old F4i (which I had to sell for needed money). Other than that I have no other riding experience. I'm finding myself getting the urge to try some wheelies and to be honest, its scaring me.

I'm curious as to how much experience is recommended, or how long did you wait to try a wheelie, if you even have? Input from experienced to new riders greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
62 Posts
Unless you feel very comfortable in your riding and maneuvering the bike, I wouldnt try it just yet! Just my .02

·
Registered
5,021 Posts
not worth trying at this point.......

when you are comfortable with using all the power the motor can produce, start playing with using torque/clutch to bring front wheel up.

easy to drop bike when you are learning .....and dropped bike is $$$$$ to repair.

·
BOTM Winner 05/15
9,996 Posts
First, learn you're bike inside and out before going for tricks. With your experience level, I'd hold off.

Second, film it. For the love of Kate Upton, film it if you go for it.

No offense, just don't want you to hurt your bike.

Sent from my ADR6300 using Motorcycle.com App

·
Registered
288 Posts
Been riding for almost 7 years now, 2 different bikes and lots of miles. I've bad the urge plenty of times, but the consequences of failing have always outweighed the rewards of trying (not many I can think of.) That being said if you so feel the urge, at least take the proper precautions (wearing all your gear and not doing so on public roads where you would endanger others, especially with no experience.) Good luck bud!

·
Registered
3,968 Posts