Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
295 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
any advice for a 61 year old fat man doing his first track day this saturday at MSRH Houston...
I have been riding for 47 years but never been on a track, so I signed up with ridesmart to learn how to properly play with the new 600rr..
so any of you guys got any advice for my first track day?
Things to do...
Things not to do....
advice can be about riding.. prepertation...what to take, what to leave at home...whose ass to kiss and who to kick in the butt...what ever crosses your mind...
but if you have not had the experience, read with me, do not comment.. I can speculate enough on my own...

·
*BOTM Feb '11, Mar '12*
23,598 Posts
For first timers, stay hydrated, stay loose and have fun. Its a whole new experience on the track but before you pick up skills like body position and holding your lines just get comfortable and have fun. Guys that take it too serious at first usually have a short day.

·
Registered
3,365 Posts
Rule #1 for a first timer is to ride at your own pace. Don't worry about being too slow if guys are flying by you and don't go faster than you're comfortable with. The first time someone fly's by you they'll likely scare the crap outta you, but you get used to it quick.

·
SRO
367 Posts
Rule #1 for a first timer is to ride at your own pace. Don't worry about being too slow if guys are flying by you and don't go faster than you're comfortable with. The first time someone fly's by you will likely scare the crap outta you, but you get used to it quick.
^This. Exactly right. Ride your own ride. Speed will come later.

Congrats BTW on deciding to do a track day. You won't regret it!:banger:

·
Premium Member
14,330 Posts
Listen to the control riders. You will learn so much in one day. Just take your time and it will come.

·
BOTY Winner 2015 - BOTM Winner 04/2015
7,287 Posts
don't forget your key, many have...

·
Registered
2003 Honda CBR 600RR
6,791 Posts