Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts
N

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When you started selling bikes, did the dealership offer any benefit packages and what was the starting wage?

I know it ranges from state to state but just curious.

I plan on going back to school to finish up my degree and this would be an awesome job seeing how I really like motorcycles.

·
Registered
356 Posts
I was a Sales Manager at a dealership in NC..NO benefit packages..I started at about 10 beans an hour + commissions and bonus checks from the factory.

N

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
sigma2chi said:
I was a Sales Manager at a dealership in NC..NO benefit packages..I started at about 10 beans an hour + commissions and bonus checks from the factory.
Was it worth it?

·
Registered
356 Posts
I loved it, it's just stressful cause it's not a fixed income. as long as you don't have alot of bills it is a great job. and if you're good you can make alot of money.

N

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
sigma2chi said:
cause it's not a fixed income.
That's the part that bothers me. And I do have bills, but I don't want to have to work 10 or 12 hour shifts (8+overtime) because I want to spend that time studying.

C

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Honestly I have a pipe dream myself of owning a bike shop of my own someday. I plan on working for the man for 20 years or so, maybe less....saving up a poopload of money, and buying one and doing it till the day I die. I love motorcycles so much, I could see myself doing that even if I lived to be 100. As far as being a motorcycle salesman goes though, I'm about to get my degree in May as well, and I would like to think I can do a little better then that after working 4 hard years towards a degree.