Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I am new to the CBR scene and I've always been one to do my own maintenance when possible on my bikes :) That being said I have never done fork seal replacement before, and I had my left fork spring a leak. I have the forks removed and taken apart, cleaned and seals replaced but am confused on the reassembly. My springs came out as a whole piece (see pic below) and not sure whether or not I am supposed to take these apart further or if I can just put them back together as is and service through the spring into the fork tube and just pump it? My bike is a 2006. Ready to get this show back on the road! Thanks in advance!

Attachments

·
Registered
57 Posts
you should take it down further because its going to be nearly impossible to get the oil level right with everything as is. you'll need something to compress the spring to get the cap off. There is a great thread here regarding fork seal maintenance that details disassembling the forks. its not hard.

·
Registered
4,976 Posts
Also, check out an ancient writeup on 05 forks, with a valving mod...
look for; peterverdonedesigns.

very good step by step, wonder where that guy went....

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Awesome! Thanks for the link Grey, I am going to have to order the compression tool as I don't have time to make one and i'll need it in the future anyway. Ill post more in process and once I am done!

·
Registered
57 Posts
no problem, it was really a pretty easy job. I bought the tool and the holder from traxxion, as well as a fork seal driver and oil level measuring tool from motion pro, and I think that was it.

only issue I had was that I cracked that white plastic piece on top of the spring and had to get a replacement halfway though the job.

·
Registered
7 Posts