Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have already introduced myself in the new members forum, but want to say hello again! I am a Yamaha guy that wants to venture out and try something new, which is why I'm here. I want to get more insight about the 05+ rr.

I've owned 2 R6 (2000 and 2004) and love both of them and feel very comfortable with them.

How will the transition be? For those of you who have owned/ridden an R6 what would you say the differences are?

What were the changes from the 03-04 RR's to the 05-06 RR's? I've sat on both and the 03 seems very narrow and short, which was something I don't feel comfortable with. I did get a chance to sit on a 05-06 and it was more comparable to the R6 because it was a bit wider then the 03, is this correct?

I will mostly be using the bike for canyon runs and track days.

I'm a complete noob when it comes to Honda MC's, so help me out!

·
Registered
2,722 Posts
the 05/06 recieved some changes from previous years:

- inverted forks
- lost some weight
- gained more midrange
- minor cosmetic differences too

r6 is a great bike and I love how the newer ones look

·
Registered
936 Posts
Not sure if this will be worth anything but here goes

Brothers got the 08 r6 and it's got the power but only at the top...the very top. You can't lug this monster around town like the rr. The seat on the r6 is better ( but who's isn't) The rr feels more stable in the corners than the r6 - I feel like I'm riding a mt. bike on the R6. All in all I think the R6 belongs at the track and the RR on Both!

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes, I do agree that the 06+ r6 is much more aggressive with riding position. Another reason why the 06+ R6 won't work for me is because the tank is too wide, it feels like the 02-03 gixxers tank and I am not comfortable on it.

Did the 05-06 have any changes from the 03-04. I've sat on both and it seems as if the 05 has gotten wider.