Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,500 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to the game, and I am consitently striking the ground about 6 to 8 inches behind the ball, leaving those nice divits that we all hate. Then of course I'm topping the ball and getting grounders. Any generic suggestions? I'm considering trying a lesson or 2.

·
Registered
3,372 Posts
sounds like you just need to practice your swing and get confident with it. somewhere in the swing you're dropping your axis and striking the ground or pulling up and topping the ball. there are so many things that can affect the axis of your swing (ie. need bent/not bet enough, stance over the ball, grip, back position, hand position, etc...).

some classes would be very beneficial if you are gonna be plalying for a while. lucky me, my girl's grandfather is a local pro at the course near the house so i get free tips. and i try to go to the driving range a couple times a week to practice my swing.

good luck with it and keep at it. hit it between the screws and keep it in the fairway, brother!!

·
Registered
8,498 Posts
couple things.

If you are topping the ball, that usually means that you are either Lifting up your head thru impact, or your upper body is moving around too much. Its hard to explain, but when you set up for the ball and go to swing, you should start your movement at the hips. Everything will rotate around the position of the ball. A lot of new golfers will try and sway their body back, putting all their weight on their back foot and then when you push back to swing you'll end up with the club head all over the place.