Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looks like I'm gonna pull the trigger and be the proud owner of a 03 cb600rr. First bike. Its a bud of mines, I've seen it before always thought it was a pretty sweet looking bike.

As mentioned in my thread in the troubleshooting section. http://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?t=135283. It has some starting issues. That from what he says are completely resolved by jump starting it. It needs a jump every time to start it with one exception: he has ran it awhile before and put 35-50 miles on it, turned it off it wouldn't turn back on immediately, but he let it cool down and it fired up. So having searched the forum, im thinking it could be the battery? or the stator?

My questions:
Is the stator hard to replace?
What should I check when I go take a look at the bike, besides using a voltmeter to check the battery?
Anything else I should look at, upon initial inspection?

(I'm completely new to bikes) I know everything there is to know about mustangs, so I have a general knowledge of mechanics and how motors work etc. Actually had to replace the stator on my old 5.0 mustang ( pain in the ashe ), hopefully if it is the stator on this bike it won't be so difficult to replace.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
123 Posts
First, being new to bikes, you'd be much better off getting a bike without issues. Unless it is really REALLY cheap, its not worth it.

Second, a new rider does NOT belong on a 600cc supersport. Find a nice used ninja 250 or 500, or a suzuki gs500 or similar, and actually learn how to ride properly before jumping on a race replica.

·
Registered
801 Posts