Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just got back from riding and ended up getting pulled over for the first time. So here's the story - Riding in a 45mph zone going around 50 when this Intrepid with some chrome rims and such starts riding my ass. I start accelerating up a hill and he follows so once I'm at the top of the hill it starts going down again so I decide to pass the car in front of me at around 70mph when I see a cop coming over another hill in front of me. He didn't turn his lights on but waved his hand at me so I immediately pull over and wait for him to turn around and come back to me. He gets out of his SUV and i'm about to piss my pants right...mind you it's my first time getting pulled over on a bike and I knew I did something stupid haha.

So here's the conversation:

Cop: No passing man...but thank you for pulling over. Most people on bikes like yours try to start running. I'm not going to give you a ticket.
Me: Yeah I know I did something stupid and I shouldn't have done it.
Cop: Any reason for you to pass right there?
Me: Well...this is really no reason but a car was riding my ass for a while so I tried to get away from him and decided to pass the car in front of me even though it was a dumb idea.
Cop: Do you have a clean record?
Me: Yes sir.
Cop: Alright well take it easy alright?
Me: Alright thanks alot!

I was seriously sitting on my bike in shock. I couldn't believe this guy didn't give me a ticket or anything! I mean seriously...I was going around 65mph when he saw me in a 45, passed a car in a turn lane..so yeah I still can't believe he let me go. I guess pulling over and not running really does pay off.

I've never run from the cops and never will. I hope someone will learn to pull over for a cop instead of running from them. I've heard of way too many people dying trying to outrun the cops.

·
Registered
923 Posts