Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Hittin The Twisties On My RC 51
1,196 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, great site with lots of info. I was lurking for a while before joining and most of my questions have been answered. I picked up an ’03 red CBR a few weeks ago and love it except the exhaust smell after riding but that is a different post. I am a newbie to sportbikes (still have my ’05 Polaris Predator TLD quad and it will always be my first love) so I am still getting used to it. I attended the MSF course and I learned a lot; it was great. I still target fixate on occasion, turns are not as smooth as I would like, and paranoid as heck when I am around cell yakking cagers in traffic. My question is how exactly did you guys perfect your skills without having a mature rider watching you? I have friends who ride and the only thing they can show me is what NOT to do. Two of them actually ran from the cops last weekend after I left from a ride to go home. Not something I would even think of doing, btw. I guess I need to find some mature riders in my area to hang with. I practice daily riding as often as I can, weather permitting, but I would feel better if I had a second set of eyes critiquing me.

·
Registered
1,228 Posts
Welcome to the site man.

I am not home now (I will be in February) but I would be happy to ride with you man. I live in Manassas myself. I am not a pro by any means, but I would be happy to be a second set of eyes for ya. I could use some critiquing myself.

·
Registered
209 Posts
Yeah, time for some new riding buddies. Check around on the internet for local message boards or something. I'm a newer rider as well and have found I am getting more and more particular on who I ride with instead of just going on the mass crazy group rides. Go to some local bike nights or something too, normally you can meet cool people there that won't ride totally crazy.