Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sup guys, I'm pretty new to riding so I figured I'd come to this board since I'm assuming the majority of CBR600RR owners are seasoned mature riders who could actually provide me with some insightful knowledge. I've tried the gixxer forums in the past and... well, let's just say I may have lost a bit of faith in the future of humanity due to that experience. But I digress!

So when I'm stopped at a red light at an intersection and I want to turn left or right, I typically stay in first through the turn. However, I ride a CBR250R and the engine revs fairly high throughout, which is something I'd like to avoid doing given that the bike is brand new and the engine is still not properly worn in enough to tolerate extensive high revving. What do you typically do in my situation? I'm starting to think that maybe I should try to get into second as soon as possible before the turn, but I usually don't have much distance before the initial entry into the corner. That or shift into second during the turn (it goes against intuitive thought, I know, and also against what I was taught at the MSF course, but I figure that at that slow speed I wouldn't be sacrificing too much stability during that short an instance of disengaged power to the rear). But, yeah please let me know what I should do. Thanks a lot, fellas.

·
Registered
793 Posts
There isn't going to be a "right" answer for you because, well, it depends. I shift into whatever gear is appropriate for what I'm doing at the time without really thinking. BUT, I ride a lot so making a shift, even if I muck it up, isn't going to cause a lot of drama even if I'm in the middle of a turn.