Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding Harleys for the past 3 years. At some point during the last year I just had to have myself a sports bike. Fast forward to yesterday, I've picked up my Red 07 CBR600RR. I wore all my protective gear (Helmet, gloves, back protector, jacket, kevlar pants, knee/shin gaurds and boots) and headded off to the stealer.

My initial thoughts when I was finishing up the paperwork at the dealer were more of regret. I was thinking to myself "Damn it! What did I get myself into
:sad11:". Since it was too late to do anything, worst case scenario is to sell it if I don't like it, so I sat on the bike and turned it on and I was out the door.

50 meters later, I stopped at the end of the parking lot so I would get familar with the hand and foot controls. Not only that but I was also trying to calm myself down, I was quite nervous. After I was calm enough I just got on the bike and rode out of town so I wouldn't have to deal with traffic.

30 minutes into my ride and that regret, which I'm ashamed of right now, has turned into pure JOY!! Good God what was I missing! So this is what a CBR can do. The throttle response is instant, the control is great and precise. I also managed to go up to 220 kph without any problem, the bike stable and wanted to go faster.

On my harley I use all four fingers with some force to stop the bike, however on my CBR the brakes requires only the simplest and effortless touch to stop (I know I'm being a bad MSF graduate for using only 2 fingers but I feel it's more than necessary so I wont get myself into trouble). It felt to me that the front brakes can stop time itself.

Gear shifting was sort of a hassle for me. Some gears would shift without a problems and others are hard. Perhaps this would ease up during break-in? (can I get any feedback on this point?) I'll wait and see till then.