Honda CBR 600RR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
494 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I am a newbie, when I am not at the back of the grid at start off, I let the riders in back shoot pass me going into turn 1.

The reason for this is, I figured the riders in back of me on the grid are novices like me, and not skilled at passing in real close quarter racing. Experts can pass quickly and cleanly. I am not an expert and neither are the riders in back of me. :) I figured if they are faster than me, they will be in front anyway, and if they are slower, I will picked them off.

I am going to be doing this until I get faster.

comments?

·
Registered
606 Posts
I don't like the strategy. It may seem weird, but I think its safer to stuff it into t1 and get away from the wacko midpack guys. I would rather be passed by a good rider behind me than to be passing "enthusiastic" guys that are slower than me.

·
Registered
2,793 Posts
Let's not forget the one critical component here... YOU ARE RACING!!! Even after reading your reasoning, I still have to ask. Why would want to give yourself an imediate dissadvantage like that? If you need to the practice, do it at trackdays, NOT during a race weekend...

I've been racing my RS125 primarily this season. So, when I pulled out my 600 for one round this season, I had to start from the very back of the pack. And, let me tell ya, it was the scariest experince I've ever had racing. It might seem like a good idea working your way up thru the slower folks, but once you get to the mid-packers, well the only way I can put it is, they are unpredictable... They're just fast enough so you can't pass quickly and they're squirly enough to make passing very very difficult...

Do yourself a favor and just race your race... Don't worry about the racers behind you, and do your practicing at trackdays.

·
Registered
168 Posts